Books Are My Thing – HAS MOVED!

Please visit www.booksaremything.com to continue following my blog!

Monthly Book Round-up: July 2014

July saw an increase in books read, thanks to a week at the beach!  It was nice to get so much reading done, though I’m definitely way behind in reviews now!  I finished listening to only one book this month, mainly because I’ve re-started A Game of Thrones, this time via audio.  Expect this trend to continue over the months as I work my way through the books – I’ve definitely been enjoying the story more, and the narrator is awesome.  I knocked out another series this month, reading the Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy.  My goal is to read the Caster Chronicles series next, though that may or may not get started in August.

I also changed a few things up with some fellow bloggers this month, which was a lot of fun!  If you’re ever interested in collaborating on something with me, send me an email at bookjunkiekrystal@gmail.com.

And the biggest news yet:  I took the leap to getting my own domain name and becoming self-hosted!  I’ll give you more details about what route I chose when everything gets switched over, but for now please be aware there may be some in-between lag time.  I am set to migrate things this weekend, so if you have issues getting to my blog, please hang in there!  You will soon be able to find the blog at http://www.booksaremything.com, so start bookmarking it now!

 

 

Books I ReadJuly Read

Note that Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil was a DNF.

 

 

Books I Listened ToLast Lecture

 

 

Books I BoughtJuly Bought

 

 

Books I WonBlack Ice

Thanks go out to Shelly over at Read.Sleep.Repeat. for hosting the giveaway!

 

 

Books I ReviewedJuly Reviewed

Last Time I Saw You by Elizabeth Berg

Have A Little Faith by Mitch Albom

Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson

Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

Fires of Man by Dan Levinson

Fixed On You by Laurelin Paige

Until The End by Tracey Ward (Guest Post over at Reviews in a Pinch)

Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil by John Berendt

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs (Co-Post over at Down The Book Hole)

 

 

Other Posts

Top Ten Tuesday {15}: Classics I Actually Want To Read

2014 Progress Thus Far

Top Ten Tuesday {16}: Blogging Confessions!

Quotable Friday {11}: Be Shameless

The Book of Life (AHHHH!) and A Few Life Lessons

Guest Book Review: Monsters of Templeton by Lauren Groff

IT’S VACATION TIME!!!

Top Ten Tuesday {17}: Authors I Own The Most Books From

Let’s Talk: Blog Hosting

 

 

Looking Forward into August

I am going to be doing a second co-post with Ashley @ Down The Book Hole talking about Hollow City (Miss Peregrine’s #2) by Ransom Riggs!  We really enjoyed doing the first book together, and I’m sure the second one is going to be fun too.  I will be finishing up the audio of A Game of Thrones and moving on to A Clash of Kings!  This is a big deal for me because I decided I needed to get through at least the first two books before I start watching the show, and I’m anxious to start watching.  I would really like to participate in Bout of Books 11, but it will depend on what my work schedule is like, as I might be traveling a lot.  I promised the fiance I would focus on my outrageous amount of unread books here at home (I have SO BLOWN my one shelf rule), so I’m hoping not to buy any new books for the month.  The look of the blog is going to be changing, and once I get everything the way I like it, I’m going to be ordering business cards to start handing out!  Finally, I’ll be reviewing the fifty million books I read while at the beach 🙂

I'd love to know what you think!

Books Are My Thing

Some women collect shoes, others collect purses. I collect books.

Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need Spoiler-Free Reviews In A Pinch

Eat well, Live well

“Let food be your medicine and your medicine be your food” – Hippocrates

teach from the heart

musings of a teacher, parent, and life-long learner

Mile High Reading

“Books to the ceiling, Books to the sky, My pile of books is a mile high. How I love them! How I need them! I'll have a long beard by the time I read them.” - Arnold Lobel

Reading with Analysis

Reading without reflecting is like eating without digesting - Edmund Burke

GreenFloss

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Soils Matter, Get the Scoop!

What's the dirt on soil? Find out here.

