Books Are My Thing – HAS MOVED!

Please visit www.booksaremything.com to continue following my blog!

Book Review: Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil by John Berendt

Hey everyone!  I am back from vacation (sadly), and boy do I have a lot of reviews to catch up on after a week of reading on the beach!  I’m also hoping going back to work doesn’t kill me, haha.

 
 

LOFB

 Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil was June’s Lost or Forgotten Book.  You may have noticed that I didn’t do a LOF book this month, and that was for several reasons.  First, I wanted to spend July reading ONLY what I was super excited about reading.  Second, I heed and hawed through this book all of June.  At the end of the month, I was sitting outside at lunch reading it when I thought to myself, UGH, I’m tired of this book and just wish it would be over.  So, despite having gotten through two-thirds of the book, I called it a DNF at that moment and decided I needed a month’s break from LOF.

 

386187

Goodreads Summary

 

This book did not turn out to be what I thought it was.  It’s actually non-fiction, about a true-case murder that happened in Savannah.  It left me thinking of The Great Gatsby without all the grace and elegance of Fitzgerald’s writing.

 

Most of the book is centered on describing Savannah and it’s residents.  We learn intense details about each and every person, including outlier characters that seem to have very little to do with the murder, but were included because the author interacted/became acquainted or friends with them.  We get so much information about these people, but it was SO hard to actually care about most of them.

It also took AGES to even get to the actual murder.  I mean, years go by as the author discusses these people.  Then out of no where, BAM, a guy is dead.  And then life continues on for a while, as if nothing ever happened, until the actual trial happens.  By this point I was just bored with it all and gave up.

 

Overall, this book wasn’t the suspense/mystery I was expecting, and it sort of bored me to tears.  I eventually decided it wasn’t worth reading any longer and put it down, despite being two-thirds of the way through.  Sometimes that’s just what you have to do.

 

Have you ever read the majority of a book only to suddenly find yourself incredibly bored by it?

3 responses to “Book Review: Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil by John Berendt

  1. Pingback: Lost or Forgotten Books {5}: August | Books Are My ThingBooks Are My Thing

  2. Pingback: Lost or Forgotten Books {5}: August | Books Are My Thing

  3. Pingback: Monthly Book Round-up: July 2014 | Books Are My Thing

I'd love to know what you think!

Books Are My Thing

Some women collect shoes, others collect purses. I collect books.

Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need Spoiler-Free Reviews In A Pinch

Eat well, Live well

“Let food be your medicine and your medicine be your food” – Hippocrates

teach from the heart

musings of a teacher, parent, and life-long learner

Mile High Reading

“Books to the ceiling, Books to the sky, My pile of books is a mile high. How I love them! How I need them! I'll have a long beard by the time I read them.” - Arnold Lobel

Reading with Analysis

Reading without reflecting is like eating without digesting - Edmund Burke

GreenFloss

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Soils Matter, Get the Scoop!

What's the dirt on soil? Find out here.

