Books Are My Thing – HAS MOVED!

Please visit www.booksaremything.com to continue following my blog!

The Book of Life (AHHHH!) and a few life lessons

Ha ha.  Get the pun?  I know, it’s terrible.

 

So in case you are living under a rock, The Book of Life by Deborah Harkness came out today, concluding the awesomely amazing All Souls Trilogy.

I am still in the process of reading Dreams of Gods & Monsters, so it’s likely I won’t get to The Book of Life for a few days, but I definitely picked up my copy today!!!  And if you follow me on Twitter (@bookjunkiekrys), then you already know the sweet news I’m about to discuss!

 

Let me start from the beginning.  A few weeks ago I ordered the 2nd and 3rd book of the Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy from Books A Million (BAM).  When my books arrived, I had also received two other books I hadn’t bought.  After debating it for about 5-10 minutes, I morally couldn’t keep them and contacted the company to return the books.  My thoughts?  “Well what if some poor soul didn’t get the books they ordered because I got them!?!”  So I returned the books.

 

Two weeks ago I noticed that BAM was selling pre-orders of autographed copies of The Book of Life.  The problem was that they weren’t shipping until today, and I was worried I wouldn’t get it before I leave for the beach this weekend.  Then last week I logged on again to see that the signed copies were all gone from the pre-orders.

The other week I listened to a quick audiobook called The Last Lecture by Randy Pausch (review coming in the future).  One of the things he talked about was “Always ask”.  So there I am, wondering to myself if my local BAM store might have signed copies, and wondering how I might obtain one, when, out of no where, this audiobook pops in my head.  So I call the store.

 

I first talk to a sales associate who obviously wouldn’t know, and I get passed to the manager.  The manager says to me, “You’ll have to hold for a few minutes, they are under lock and key because we can’t give any out before the 15th.”  So I patiently hold.  He comes back and tells me they have ONE signed copy.  Immediately my hopes are dashed, because there is NO WAY I can get to the store before someone picks up that book.

In the next breath he says “Would you like me to reserve it for you?”  I almost SQUEALED over the phone.  I was all “I didn’t know you could do that, yes, please, YES!”

 

So at lunch time today (because I wouldn’t DARE waiting until the end of my work day to pick it up), I drove over and picked this pretty baby up from the store! 🙂

BsnAXQqCcAA4K4o.jpg_large

Don’t get me wrong, I would much rather meet Harkness herself to get a signed copy, but seeing as that won’t be happening, this is the next best thing.  I am SO excited to have this gorgeous thing gracing my shelves, and I CAN’T WAIT to start reading it!

 
 

Lesson(s) of the day?

Karma pays, so always do the right thing.

ALWAYS ASK, you never know what it will get you.

 
 

I want to know, who else has picked up this book already?!?!

3 responses to “The Book of Life (AHHHH!) and a few life lessons

  1. Pingback: The Last Lecture by Randy Pausch - Books Are My Thing

  2. Pingback: Monthly Book Round-up: July 2014 | Books Are My Thing

  3. nomoney4books July 17, 2014 at 10:51 am

    That’s so awesome!! 🙂

    Like

I'd love to know what you think!

Books Are My Thing

Some women collect shoes, others collect purses. I collect books.

Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need Spoiler-Free Reviews In A Pinch

Eat well, Live well

“Let food be your medicine and your medicine be your food” – Hippocrates

teach from the heart

musings of a teacher, parent, and life-long learner

Mile High Reading

“Books to the ceiling, Books to the sky, My pile of books is a mile high. How I love them! How I need them! I'll have a long beard by the time I read them.” - Arnold Lobel

Reading with Analysis

Reading without reflecting is like eating without digesting - Edmund Burke

GreenFloss

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Soils Matter, Get the Scoop!

What's the dirt on soil? Find out here.

