Books Are My Thing – HAS MOVED!

Please visit www.booksaremything.com to continue following my blog!

Top Ten Tuesday {16}: Blogging Confessions!

TTT2As always, this weekly book blog meme is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

 

OH BOY.  As soon as I saw this week’s TTT, I KNEW it was going to be an interesting one to write.  I think we all have “secrets” we don’t like to necessarily admit to our readers – but hey, I am all about transparency and honesty on this blog, so let’s get to it!

 

1)  After blogging for 6 months, I still feel like a total newbie.  There are so many things about blogging I don’t know or don’t understand, and often I’m not sure where to go to find out.  For example, I STILL cannot figure out how to get WordPress to show my book cover image in the Reader versus my rating image.  Everything I read says it should show the image that comes up first on my blog post, and that would be my book cover.  Still, week after week, my post goes up, and I see the rating image.  Grumble grumble.  I also can’t figure out how make my links auto-approved.  For example, every time I link to one of my own posts or pages, when that post goes live, I get notifications from WordPress that I have to approve every link.  It gets SUPER annoying when I do my end of the month posts.  Worst yet, I haven’t been getting notifications to approve when someone else links to me, so I never have any idea unless I physically read their post.  Doesn’t that seem backwards to you?  I can’t figure it out.

2)  I have a SERIOUS love/hate relationship with ARCs.  I want to receive and review ARCs, I really do.  I am constantly jealous of bloggers who regularly get them, ESPECIALLY the print versions.  I can’t figure out how to get those.  Still, I am such a mood reader that sometimes I get annoyed with having a time frame in which to read them by.  Reading starts feeling like a chore because there are other books I want to pick up and yet I’m stuck reading the ARC I signed up for.  Perhaps I need to start being even more selective than I already am, or work harder on getting print copies – I know I’d enjoy reading those more.

3)  I don’t have a clue how people manage to read/review 3-5 books a week.  It seems crazy to me!!  I love to read, but I also have SO MANY OTHER THINGS in my life that take up my free time.  I’ve been averaging reading/listening to 7-8 books, a month.

4)  I’m really, really bad about reviewing a book as soon as I’ve finished it, especially if I finish it somewhere other than home.  This is why I built up a bit of a cushion when it comes to my reviews, so I end up posting a review of a book a few weeks after I’ve read it.  It gives me time to actually get around to writing the review.  That doesn’t mean it’s what always happens, sometimes I will finish a book and have the review up a few days later, particularly if it’s an ARC with a certain timeframe, but I try to keep my reviews in the order that I read them.

5)  I sometimes feel outdated with the books I’m reading/reviewing.  There are A LOT of books currently on my TBR shelf that have been out for at least several years.  There are just way too many books for me to read everything around the time it comes out, plain and simple.  Still, I often wonder if most of my reviews get bypassed because they are “older” books?

6) I LOVE binge reading trilogies/series, but I easily tire of binge reviewing said trilogies/series.  I have several sets of books that were gloriously waiting for me to finished my “required” list (ARCs, books I committed to for joint reading/reviewing efforts, etc) so that I can binge.  But reviewing them after I read?  I end up feeling like I’m saying the same things over and over again.  This is part of the reason why I am excited to be doing a read-along for the Miss Peregrine’s books 🙂

7)  I still don’t understand how BEA and BookCon work.  Yeah, I’ve read post after post after post about them.  I still don’t get it.  Maybe I need to attend a slightly smaller book expo and/or Con first.  Suggestions for something in or around Pennsylvania???

8)  At times I wonder if I am posting things my readers want to read.  Do you enjoy these top tens?  What about my Quotable Friday’s and/or Lost or Forgotten Books?  I post the things I post because they appeal to me or I enjoy writing them, but that doesn’t mean I don’t care what you all think.  Tell me what you want to see and like to read!!

9)  The balance of reading versus blogging is hard to maintain at times.  I could spend HOURS writing posts, working on my blog, reading other blogs, catching up on the bookish world (I’m still following this Amazon thing guys, it’s a big deal!).  But I could also spend all those hours reading a delightful book.  Every once in a great while, I will set up the blog to mostly run on it’s own for the week and just read, which is nice.  Until of course I end up with multiple reviews I have to write, haha 🙂

10)  I sometimes have a hard time being proud of my blog, outside the book blogging community.  That sounds strange, right?  And yet, when I’m talking to coworkers about the book I’m taking to lunch with me, or something along those lines, I find myself saying “This is going to sound totally nerdy…. but I write a book blog.”  Why am I afraid to say that?  I should be PROUD of this blog, and announce it to the world whenever I can.  I think it goes along the same lines as my years of fearing to admit that I enjoy the fantasy genre.  It makes no sense, and I’m sure I’ll eventually overcome it.

 

As a fellow reader, what confessions or “secrets” do you have?

18 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday {16}: Blogging Confessions!

  1. Pingback: Monthly Book Round-up: July 2014 | Books Are My Thing

  2. Rachel July 10, 2014 at 6:31 pm

    I call myself a geek all the time. I think it started as a “you’re going to call me it so I’m going to put it out there first” thing, but then geek became chic again and I like promoting the fact that it’s ok to be a geek!!

    I series binge like crazy and I love it, but I know what you mean, I need a break between binges to recover. And I definitely sympathise with #9. I work and sometimes study, and do some freelance, and try to fit in a social life, and I read. But I blog too, and blogging usually eats into my reading time. Since blogging I read more since it re-awakened my inner reader, but since blogging properly I feel like I read less too, since it’s eating into my reading time. Catch-22. How anyone reads 3-5 books a week is beyond me! They must not sleep!

    My TTT

    Liked by 1 person

  3. anotherafterthought July 9, 2014 at 6:19 pm

    Your link/pingback sounds like a setting in admin>setting>discussion. I’m not certain it is but it sounds like it might be? If skimming through different functions of WP: Admin doesn’t work, you could always try to isolate the problem. Is it a theme issue? Is it a setting issue? etc.

    And I totally agree with you on how perplexing it is to see some beastly readers who read (and review) several books a week. And here I am just managing to scrap through a chapter of a book in a week.

    Cheers,
    joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts

    Like

  4. Raised A Reader July 9, 2014 at 1:15 am

    My blog has only been online for about a month, so I really am a newbie, and I think I’ll have the same problem as you, because I feel the same now as I did three weeks ago. I totally identify with the ARC thing. I love requesting them…but following through? It’s sometimes hit and miss, because no matter how cool it looks, sometimes the book doesn’t live up.

    Like

  5. Caught Read Handed July 8, 2014 at 2:33 pm

    Number 5: I enjoy having bloggers I follow post reviews of older books for a couple of reasons: older books are cheaper for me to buy if I like your recommendation and I get to find out about books I might’ve missed out on. So I’m for those reviews. 🙂
    Also, I completely agree with #9!
    My TTT

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Jaime (The World for the Reading) July 8, 2014 at 2:13 pm

    I always have a hard time finding a balance between reading/working on the blog. Sometimes I find it’s good to take a break to just read.

    Like

  7. downthebookhole July 8, 2014 at 12:52 pm

    I totally understand so many of your feelings/secrets. I have only ever received two print arc and thats because the author tweeted about needing reviewers and one I own on goodreads. I also sometimes feel that the books I read are old, but sometimes the old ones are the best found treasures! Earlier this year was the first time I binge read a whole series and it was amazing and I read through them so fast! But I totally get to whole reviewing thing. I want to go to BEA so bad! And can’t wait to read Mrs. Peregrine’s and review it with you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. missmickeesunshine July 8, 2014 at 12:28 pm

    Great and inspirational post Bjk! I love your blog, it is a favorite:) I am hooked on the Goodread’s Giveaways, and its taken me awhile to figure out how to work the bookshelves. I have help from a writer/poet friend who set up my wordpress blog so I could click/comment on the work of others. As a tech-challenged book reviewer I only publish on Amazon/Goodread’s, (I like keeping all my 114 reviews in one central location) Lately, I have only been reviewing new books.. it is so hard to get those helpful clicks that keep a reviewers stats elevated though!
    I love talking about my favorite subject: “book review”. However, have you ever noticed non reviewers seldom have any interest in our topic/craft?
    I too have difficulty keeping up with the ARC wins! My writer/poet friends give/send me copies of their books for review. I have been reading a manuscript of a dear writer friend since March. My daughter just indie published.. I am tremendously proud of her, though I’m not sure how a review from Mom will go over… need to think about that one.
    As always Happy reading and reviewing:) missmickeesunshine

    Like

  9. Clair. July 8, 2014 at 12:07 pm

    I’m a librarian and get ARC through my good vendor, you can also enter in for goodread book sometimes you can get ARC like that.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. moonglint July 8, 2014 at 11:34 am

    When you figure out the first one, let me know. All I see is a blurred star instead of the book cover it should display for my blog too (but only when I use my tablet, with my laptop the cover is displayed).It amazes me how many books get read and reviewed by other bloggers too. I feel like I’m missing some vital piece of information that would help me read faster.
    My TTT

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to know what you think!

Books Are My Thing

Some women collect shoes, others collect purses. I collect books.

Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need Spoiler-Free Reviews In A Pinch

Eat well, Live well

“Let food be your medicine and your medicine be your food” – Hippocrates

teach from the heart

musings of a teacher, parent, and life-long learner

Mile High Reading

“Books to the ceiling, Books to the sky, My pile of books is a mile high. How I love them! How I need them! I'll have a long beard by the time I read them.” - Arnold Lobel

Reading with Analysis

Reading without reflecting is like eating without digesting - Edmund Burke

GreenFloss

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Soils Matter, Get the Scoop!

What's the dirt on soil? Find out here.

