Books Are My Thing – HAS MOVED!

Please visit www.booksaremything.com to continue following my blog!

Book Review: The Last Time I Saw You by Elizabeth Berg

I’m pretty sure this book has been on my TBR shelves for longer than any other book I own.  Crazily enough, I still remember when I picked it up – it was one of those take a book, leave a book kind of things at my work, close to 4 years ago.  I’ve just always had other books I wanted to read more.  I stumbled upon the audiobook of this one at my library, and decided it was finally time to get the darn thing off my shelf.

 

Last Time I Saw YouClick the image for the Goodreads summary.

 

When I do my reviews, I always like to use the cover image of the version I own.  Once again, we have a case where the cover has nothing to do with the book, and they should have stuck with the original, though even that doesn’t tell you much about the story.

 

7012055

 

The Last Time I Saw You is about a high school reunion – the last one, in fact, that these folks will ever have.  It follows several characters as they decide whether or not they are going to go, catch up with old friends in anticipation of the event, set up grand expectations of what could/will happen, and learn to find that while some things have changed over the years, just as many remain the same.

 

I struggled with this book, even on audio.  It starts out with Dorothy examining herself in the mirror and prepping what she’s going to wear and how she’s going to look, while running through her mind exact how she thinks the night will go.  Right from the get-go I just couldn’t like her, and I felt that way about many of the characters.

It felt like all the characters expected everyone else to be exactly like they were in high school: same looks, same thought processes, etc.  Except that NO ONE after that many years remains the same.  Or maybe I’m kidding myself and many do, I don’t know.  For me, personally, I got out of my hometown within weeks of graduating, and haven’t lived there since.  So maybe I have a different perspective.  I just found it really hard to relate to and understand the characters.

 

I also struggled with the plot of the book.  Most of it is about the days leading up to the event, and flashbacks to high school.  But once the event actually happens, you only get a brief summary of where everyone ends up afterwards.  I would have liked more time to learn how their lives change after the reunion, since it didn’t seem to go the way anyone had planned/intended/wanted.

Still, the book got me thinking to my own high school reunion moments.  I’ve only had one, so I don’t have much perspective yet.  But it was interesting to ponder what they will be like in the future.

 

Honestly, I know this is a short, kinda lousy review, but the book just didn’t hold much appeal for me.  The premise sounded interesting, but I thought it fell flat, and I really, REALLY had issues with the characters.  I’m not sure I’d recommend this book to anyone, perhaps those older than me who may or may not be able to better relate.

2 out of 5

 

Do you ever struggle to relate with characters?

4 responses to “Book Review: The Last Time I Saw You by Elizabeth Berg

  1. Pingback: Monthly Round-up: July 2014 - Books Are My Thing

  2. Pingback: Monthly Book Round-up: July 2014 | Books Are My Thing

  3. ReviewsInAPinch July 3, 2014 at 1:15 pm

    That was an awesomely honest review. We can’t like every book we review and you gave solid reasoning as to why you didn’t like it. 🙂

    Like

I'd love to know what you think!

Books Are My Thing

Some women collect shoes, others collect purses. I collect books.

Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need Spoiler-Free Reviews In A Pinch

Eat well, Live well

“Let food be your medicine and your medicine be your food” – Hippocrates

teach from the heart

musings of a teacher, parent, and life-long learner

Mile High Reading

“Books to the ceiling, Books to the sky, My pile of books is a mile high. How I love them! How I need them! I'll have a long beard by the time I read them.” - Arnold Lobel

Reading with Analysis

Reading without reflecting is like eating without digesting - Edmund Burke

GreenFloss

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Soils Matter, Get the Scoop!

What's the dirt on soil? Find out here.

