Books Are My Thing – HAS MOVED!

Please visit www.booksaremything.com to continue following my blog!

Top Ten Tuesday {15}: Classics I Actually Want to Read

TTT2As always, this weekly book blog meme is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

 

I will be the first person to admit, I am not overly fond of most classics.  I just can’t get into the old English and such, though I do think that even books like The Great Gatsby should be considered classics, despite not being as old as say Romeo and Juliet.  Still, there are some that are on my list, most already on my bookshelves having been found at used book sales, waiting to be read.

 

Sherlock Holmes by Arthur Conan Doyle.  The classic detective tale!

The Scarlet Letter by Nathanial Hawthorne.  Adultery and a strong woman during the Puritan times?  Alright, lay it on me.

On The Road by Jack Kerouac.  There is something about travel/adventure logs that intrigue me; for example, A Walk in the Woods by Bill Bryson is one of my favorites.

The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger. This is one of those “classic” banned books I missed reading in high school (along with The Great Gatsby), because it was believed I should be reading other awful works such as Death of a Salesman.  Anyway, I love the idea of reading about a few days in the life of a 16-year-old boy, what fun!

Journey to the Center of the Earth by Jules Verne.  This one is a Sci-fi classic, and I’ve of course seen the movie a bazillion times.  Plus, I’m an environmental scientist 🙂

Les Miserables by Victor Hugo.  Just, because.  I have no reason.

Brave New World by Aldous Huxley.  Another futuristic sci-fi classic.

A Prayer for Owen Meany by John Irving.  I’ve got no good reason for this one either.

 

Whew, this week’s list was hard for me.  Still, 8 is a respectable number given my dislike for most classics.

 

What “classics” do you want to read?

10 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday {15}: Classics I Actually Want to Read

  1. Pingback: Monthly Book Round-up: July 2014 | Books Are My Thing

  2. anotherafterthought July 2, 2014 at 9:10 pm

    Was the banning of Catcher in the Rye recent…or was it region specific? I had to read that for my curriculum (in Canada) and it was agonizing for me (mainly because of my beef with Holden…)

    Cheers,
    joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts

    Like

  3. Lisa is Busy Nerding July 1, 2014 at 10:42 am

    YAY for the classic Sherlock shoutout!

    Like

  4. alenaslife July 1, 2014 at 7:35 am

    I’ve made it a personal goal to read more “classics” this year so I appreciate your list.Brave New World and Own Meany should both be on my list.
    I was a big fan of The Scarlet Letter back in the day, but I would caution that the language takes a while to get used to.
    Unfortunately, I finally got around to Catcher in the Rye last year and just HATED it.
    Hopefully you can sneak one or two of these into your reading.

    Like

  5. Caught Read Handed July 1, 2014 at 7:15 am

    The classic Sherlock Holmes stories are amazing! I’ve read most of them several times. They’re a lot of fun!
    I also really enjoy Journey to the Center of the Earth. It’s a really quick, entertaining read. 🙂
    My TTT!

    Like

I'd love to know what you think!

Books Are My Thing

Some women collect shoes, others collect purses. I collect books.

Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need Spoiler-Free Reviews In A Pinch

Eat well, Live well

“Let food be your medicine and your medicine be your food” – Hippocrates

teach from the heart

musings of a teacher, parent, and life-long learner

Mile High Reading

“Books to the ceiling, Books to the sky, My pile of books is a mile high. How I love them! How I need them! I'll have a long beard by the time I read them.” - Arnold Lobel

Reading with Analysis

Reading without reflecting is like eating without digesting - Edmund Burke

GreenFloss

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Soils Matter, Get the Scoop!

What's the dirt on soil? Find out here.

