Books Are My Thing – HAS MOVED!

Please visit www.booksaremything.com to continue following my blog!

Book Review: Fire by Kristin Cashore

In an effort to take a slight break from blogging for a week, I have dubbed this week as “Graceling Realm week”.  Really all that means is that I’m just reviewing all the books of the Graceling Realm trilogy 🙂  If you missed it, I reviewed the first book, Graceling, on Monday.

 

After listening to Graceling on audio, I was delighted to see that my library also had Fire on audio.  I immediately snatched it up, because even though Cashore wrapped up Graceling pretty well, I knew there was more to the story and I HAD to know how things were going to play out after Graceling ended.

 

6137154Click the image for the Goodreads summary.

 

I didn’t realize until I picked up the audiobook that this sequel to Graceling was actually a prequel.  Talk about confusing!

Truth be told, I was immediately disappointed when I figured out that Katsa and Po were not going to be in this book.  I really loved them in Graceling, and had been prepared to hear more of their story when I picked up Fire.  In fact, most of this story happens in a completed different part of the world than Graceling!

Still, I found the world of the Dells/Pikkia to be interesting.  It floors me that Cashore decided to create not only one world, but two, within her trilogy.  Yes, the worlds were similar, but they were also very different, and it had to of taken quite a bit of imagination to intertwine the two worlds.

I also loved Fire for the same reasons I loved Katsa and Po.  She’s a strong woman, and yet she has so much to work through as a person.  Cashore is really great with her characters.

I found the idea of “monsters” fascinating.  Unlike Gracelings, monsters were beings of extraordinary colors, with the ability, or aura, to draw you in.  Fire is a woman with intense red, pink, and silver hair, which always elicits interesting responses from people.

 

Fire is like a story within a story.  At the start of the book, you learn about young Leck.  Then suddenly you are thrown into Fire’s world, and you’re trying to figure out how the two stories are related.

Unfortunately, I just didn’t like Fire as much as I had Graceling.  I really was disappointed when I figured out it wasn’t about Katsa and Po, and I think that stuck with me throughout listening to it.  I wasn’t as drawn into the storyline as I had been during Graceling, and I got bored at certain points.  There seemed to be more fluff in Fire than there had been in Graceling.  Also, Cashore continued to use that whole “friends” thing to describe the relationships in the book, and it continued to chafe me.

Still, once I read the last book, Bitterblue (review coming soon), I gained more of an appreciation of this book.  I realized WHY Cashore had decided to write the prequel and explain Leck’s early life, and WHY she had decided to spend so much time on Fire and the Dellians/Pikkians.

 

I was originally going to only give this book a 3 out of 5, but after reading Bitterblue, I’ve decided to bump it up to a 4.  Is that allowed?  In my world it is 🙂  So, if you read Graceling and want to know how matters came to be that way, and/or want more of Cashore’s awesome world building and character development, pick up Fire.

4 out of 5

What do you think about prequels?

10 responses to “Book Review: Fire by Kristin Cashore

  1. Pingback: Book Review: Bitterblue by Kristin Cashore - Books Are My Thing

  2. Pingback: June Book Round-up (and July Preview) | Books Are My Thing

  3. Pingback: Book Review: Bitterblue by Kristin Cashore | Books Are My Thing

  4. cageofedenaddict June 25, 2014 at 8:58 am

    Well I never cared for Leak so I decided not to read what I thought was his book.

    Like

  5. Amy June 25, 2014 at 8:55 am

    I’ve read this series, felt it was a strange way to go about releasing the series and took forever for Bitterblue to come out. I generally feel, why not write the story in chronological order, especially for full length novels. Now short stories or novellas in a series where they take a popular background character and give us their story in a prequel doesn’t seem to bother me as much. For this series, I liked Fire, but not as much as Graceling, had many of the same opinions you shared.

    Like

    • Bookjunkiekrystal June 25, 2014 at 9:15 am

      Yeah, Fire definitely felt a bit out of place. I don’t know what the time between books was, but it felt like she wrote Graceling, then realized she had all this back story she needed to tell before she got to Bitterblue.

      Like

      • Amy June 25, 2014 at 9:28 am

        Couldn’t remember how long, so I looked it up. Graceling 2008, Fire 2009, Bitterblue 2012. I think there was some issue with the publisher or something else holding the book up. All the more reason to start a Trilogy after they are all released. Look forward to seeing what you thing of Bitterblue.

        Like

        • Bookjunkiekrystal June 25, 2014 at 8:45 pm

          I sort of agree about starting a series after they are all released. Don’t get me wrong, you miss out on all the hype and excitement, and I definitely bought the HP books the day they came out. But I LOVE binge reading. I already did it with Divergent and this one this year, and I still plan to get the Daughter of Smoke and Bone and Shadow and Bone trilogies read this year as well. Meanwhile, I’ve had to wait FOREVER for Book of Life (Discovery of Witches) to come out (SOON!), and the last book of the Splintered trilogy doesn’t come out until next year. I don’t want to wait! lol

          Like

I'd love to know what you think!

Books Are My Thing

Some women collect shoes, others collect purses. I collect books.

Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need Spoiler-Free Reviews In A Pinch

Eat well, Live well

“Let food be your medicine and your medicine be your food” – Hippocrates

teach from the heart

musings of a teacher, parent, and life-long learner

Mile High Reading

“Books to the ceiling, Books to the sky, My pile of books is a mile high. How I love them! How I need them! I'll have a long beard by the time I read them.” - Arnold Lobel

Reading with Analysis

Reading without reflecting is like eating without digesting - Edmund Burke

GreenFloss

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Soils Matter, Get the Scoop!

What's the dirt on soil? Find out here.

