Books Are My Thing – HAS MOVED!

Please visit www.booksaremything.com to continue following my blog!

Book Review: Hounded by Kevin Hearne

So, as most of you know, last month I found myself checking out a Sci-fi/Fantasy book club.  We discussed World War Z, a book I had read a while back, and it was actually a lot of fun.  This month’s book was Hounded by Kevin Hearne.

 Hounded by Kevin Hearne on Books Are My ThingClick the image for the Goodreads summary.

 

I have never been part of a book club before, and I find it fascinating to hear other people’s thoughts about a book and actually talk about it.  Such a totally different venue than the blogging or even twitter world.  For example, one of the members of my club was a linguistics major at one point.  The book starts out with a pronunciation guide, and while most of tended to gloss over it, she was super appreciative of it.

Hounded is the first of the Iron Druid Chronicles.  It’s about a Druid, obviously, currently named Atticus O’Sullivan, who lives and owns an occult-esque store in Arizona.  He has long been pursued by Aenghus Og, the Celtic god of love who believes Atticus stole a sword from him and wants it back.  This first book is mainly about the battles that ensue when Aenghus Og decides to stop messing around and finally come after Atticus to retrieve the sword.

This book was apparently Hearne’s first novel, and truthfully, I wasn’t surprised to hear it.  It very much reads like a first novel, complete with standard “I never saw it coming.” cliffhangers at the end of each chapter.  No one in the group had read the other books in the series, so we don’t know how his writing may or may not progress throughout the series.  Obviously he’s doing something right though if there’s 7 books.

Something that stuck with me and that was also brought up in our meeting was the character development/voicing.  Very few characters seemed to have their own unique voice, and the gods/goddesses especially really all sounded the same.

I do have to say though that Oberon, the dog, was a FREAKING HOOT!  Oberon was definitely that character used to lighten the mood, and he did it well.  I laughed out loud a couple of times at things he “said” (through thoughts with Atticus).

And then there was the little old irish lady.  She seemed to take everything in stride, and really was the “breath of fresh air” in-between all the actions scenes.

 

Overall, I was very kind of “Meh!” about this book, which is probably why this review is so short.  I liked it, but I wasn’t floored with it.  Most of my book clubbers felt the same way.  We all had the general consensus that “Yeah, I’d maybe read the next book some day, but I have SO MANY OTHER books to read first.”  One guy did note that after fighting with the gods, how much further could Atticus really go?  It seemed like there just couldn’t be much character development for him, though I guess it would take reading the second book to find out.  If you like urban fantasy, Celtic mythology, and standard action-rest-action-rest kind of books, you’ll like this one.3 out of 5

Are you, or have you ever been, part of a book club?

One response to “Book Review: Hounded by Kevin Hearne

  1. Pingback: June Book Round-up (and July Preview) | Books Are My Thing

I'd love to know what you think!

Books Are My Thing

Some women collect shoes, others collect purses. I collect books.

Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need Spoiler-Free Reviews In A Pinch

Eat well, Live well

“Let food be your medicine and your medicine be your food” – Hippocrates

teach from the heart

musings of a teacher, parent, and life-long learner

Mile High Reading

“Books to the ceiling, Books to the sky, My pile of books is a mile high. How I love them! How I need them! I'll have a long beard by the time I read them.” - Arnold Lobel

Reading with Analysis

Reading without reflecting is like eating without digesting - Edmund Burke

GreenFloss

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Soils Matter, Get the Scoop!

What's the dirt on soil? Find out here.

