Books Are My Thing – HAS MOVED!

Please visit www.booksaremything.com to continue following my blog!

Top Ten Tuesday {14}: Books on my Summer 2014 TBR List

TTT2As always, this weekly book blog meme is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

 

So I skipped the TTT Spring TBR list, because at the time I had only been blogging a few short months, and I was still very much reading haphazardly.  However, I have made several reading commitments this summer, so I decided I’d run with it.  Here’s to hoping I meet my TBR goals!

 

Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson.  This is a Teen/YA ARC from NetGalley that I’ve already started reading, I just need to stop jumping around from book to book and actually finish it!

One of Us by Tawni O’Dell.  Another ARC from NetGalley, this one a mystery/thriller.

Fires of Man by Dan Levinson.  This too, is an ARC, this time adult sci-fi (I know, I know, I said I wasn’t going to do them often and now I’ve dedicated myself to THREE this summer!)  Oh but major announcement right here:  This book is going to be my first virtual book tour on this blog!  🙂

I Quit Sugar by Sarah Wilson. This is a book I got through Blogging for Books, in return for an honest review when I’m finished.  Sugar is a big issue in my life, because I have a total sweet tooth, and yet it makes me sick.  I’ve struggled for ages to kick the sugar habit, knowing I feel better when I avoid it, but it’s hard to do.  I’m really interested in this read!

A Song of Ice and Fire by George R. R. Martin. I haven’t read this series yet because the first book overwhelmed me.  I struggled to keep track of people.  But I really want to read it and start watching the show!!  So I decided to say screw it to reading the physical books!!  I’ve heard the audio is wonderful for the series, so I am going to work my way through as many of the audiobooks as my library has. Yippee!

My Lost or Forgotten Books.  I’ve already picked June’s LOF book, but there is still July and August.

My currently in-progress books.  Guys, I have way too many books going at the same time, and I really need to narrow the 6-7 books down to 3 or 4.  Books I’ve been reading for a while and need to finish include: Paterno, Confessions of a Shopaholic, and Fixed on You.

My Book Club Books.  Tomorrow is my June book club meeting where we are discussing Hounded by Kevin Hearne.  There will also be books for July and August, since it’s a monthly group.

AT LEAST two random reads from my TBR bookcase.  Uh, yeah, none of the books I listed above, except my LOF books, come from that shelf.  And that shelf now has, like, over 70 books on it I think.  *blushes in shame*  This is why I told myself I wasn’t going to do so many ARCs… but the books sounded too good to resist!!

 

 

Frankly, if I read all of these this summer, I will be amazed at myself… I’m too much of a mood reader to stick to a list.  And, I’m already feeling a bit overcommitted on ARC’s at the moment, so I hope I’m not doing myself in.

 

 

What books do you hope to read this summer?

As always, if you’re visiting from The Broke and the Bookish, please post your TTT link so that I can visit you!

5 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday {14}: Books on my Summer 2014 TBR List

  1. Pingback: June Book Round-up (and July Preview) | Books Are My Thing

  2. anotherafterthought June 18, 2014 at 12:33 pm

    Maaaaannnnn. Two weeks ago I was like “Oh, let me see what Game of Thrones is about” and watched the first episode. And then the first season by the next day. And now I am caught up. Not sure if/when I’ll ever read it…but I hope you enjoy it when you get the chance!

    Cheers,
    joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts

    Like

  3. nomoney4books June 17, 2014 at 4:48 pm

    Good luck with the George RR Martin books – I’ll admit I couldn’t finish the first one. Much as I enjoy the TV series, the books were a bit too overwhelming for me to enjoy.

    Like

  4. Jaime (The World for the Reading) June 17, 2014 at 10:37 am

    I’ve heard a lot of good things about Kiss of Deception. I’m very much a mood reader as well, I find these lists to be more general guidelines than rules 🙂

    Like

  5. ryandejonghe June 17, 2014 at 8:56 am

    This is great. Most of these I haven’t heard of, so I’m looking forward to your reviews.

    Like

I'd love to know what you think!

Books Are My Thing

Some women collect shoes, others collect purses. I collect books.

Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need Spoiler-Free Reviews In A Pinch

Eat well, Live well

“Let food be your medicine and your medicine be your food” – Hippocrates

teach from the heart

musings of a teacher, parent, and life-long learner

Mile High Reading

“Books to the ceiling, Books to the sky, My pile of books is a mile high. How I love them! How I need them! I'll have a long beard by the time I read them.” - Arnold Lobel

Reading with Analysis

Reading without reflecting is like eating without digesting - Edmund Burke

GreenFloss

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Soils Matter, Get the Scoop!

What's the dirt on soil? Find out here.

