Books Are My Thing – HAS MOVED!

Please visit www.booksaremything.com to continue following my blog!

Top Ten Tuesday {13}: Best Books I’ve Read So Far This Year

TTT2As always, this weekly book blog meme is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

 

This week’s TTT is Top Ten Books I’ve Read So Far This Year.  As of the time I’m writing this post (Sunday afternoon), I have read 36 books so far this year.  For some, that’s not a lot, for others, that probably sounds like a ton of books in less than 6 months.  10 books would be almost a third of the ones I’ve read this year, but most of what I read has been good.  Let’s see what I come up with!  Links are provided for all books I have reviewed thus far.

 

TTT June 10

(Note: These are in no particular order except that they have been my 10 favorites thus far.)

 

Doctor Sleep by Stephen King.  I did reread The Shining at the beginning of the year, and considered adding it to this list, but figured that wasn’t fair because I had read it before.  I LOVED this sequel to that book, didn’t disappoint in the least!  (A review is in the future… with an added twist 🙂 )

The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald.  I love the time period this book takes place in, and Fitzgerald really captures the feeling of it.

Splintered & Unhinged by A.G. Howard.  This trilogy is such a great twist to the Alice in Wonderland story, and I CANNOT WAIT until Ensnared comes out next year.

Divergent & Alligant by Veronica Roth.  I wasn’t as impressed with Insurgent, but I really enjoyed the first and last books of the Divergent Trilogy.

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon.  Truth be told, I think the narrator of the audiobook, Jeff Woodman, is what really made this book great for me.

Dark Lover by J.R. Ward.  I loved the twists to the typical paranormal stereotypes, but also all the manly men!

Dragon’s Keep by Janet Lee Carey.  This book surprised me, and proved that sometimes you really can pick up an obscure book you’ve never heard of before and it still be good!

Graceling by Kristin Cashore.  I enjoyed the trilogy as whole, but the first book was definitely my favorite I think.  (Review coming soon!)

 

 

What are your favorite books so far this year?

As always, if you’re visiting from The Broke and the Bookish, please post your TTT link so that I can visit you!

15 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday {13}: Best Books I’ve Read So Far This Year

  1. Pingback: June Book Round-up (and July Preview) - Books Are My Thing

  2. Pingback: June Book Round-up (and July Preview) | Books Are My Thing

  3. Caitie F June 13, 2014 at 3:30 pm

    I love these books! Graceling is one of my favorite books ever. I haven’t read any of the others in the series yet, but that is just one of the best. I still need to read both The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time and Doctor Sleep

    Like

  4. Sheila (Book Journey) June 11, 2014 at 12:05 pm

    Looks like you are off to a great start – and SUPER books!

    Like

  5. Jaime (The World for the Reading) June 10, 2014 at 9:58 pm

    I absolutely love Graceling. Always glad to see another fan of Allegiant.

    Like

  6. Reviews from a Bookworm June 10, 2014 at 9:03 pm

    Great picks. I loved The Great Gatsby when I read it, a brilliant book. I also loved Divergent, it was my favourite of the three. Have to admit to not really enjoying Allegiant because I felt bored whilst reading it. Nice picks 🙂

    Char @ Reviews from a Bookworm

    Like

  7. downthebookhole June 10, 2014 at 3:06 pm

    Ive been meaning to get around to rereading The Shining and then Doctor Sleep! I also love seeing that you liked Splintered and Unhinged because I have been hesitant about these because Alice in Wonderland is my absolute favorite book. I also need to start Graceling so bad and can’t wait to start the BDB series.

    Like

  8. Wendi Lee June 10, 2014 at 12:29 pm

    Doctor Sleep is on my bookshelf, I really need to read it. I loved The Shining. And yes to Graceling!!

    Here’s my TTT:
    http://wendimlee.blogspot.com/2014/06/top-ten-ya-books-i-read-this-year.html

    Like

  9. sashandem June 10, 2014 at 11:37 am

    Love us some GRACELING!
    Our Ten Top Tuesday!

    Like

  10. Emily @ Oh Magic Hour June 10, 2014 at 10:50 am

    Man, I have all of a sudden been super tempted by that Splintered series; it is EVERYWHERE. And Dragon’s Keep – I’ll definitely need to look into that.

    The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nighttime is such a great read. And you are right, the narrator is really what makes it.

    Like

  11. Priya June 10, 2014 at 10:12 am

    I loved Doctor Sleep too, looking forward to your review. Your review has made me add Dragon’s Keep to my TBR list – I love medieval fantasy!

    Like

  12. Pauline June 10, 2014 at 9:51 am

    The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time was a required school read for me, but I surprisingly liked it. :)) Glad you enjoyed it too! 😉
    My TTT

    Like

  13. ryandejonghe June 10, 2014 at 9:40 am

    Great list. I especially love Gatsby on there: still a current favorite, even in 2014.

    Like

  14. Jazmin Jade June 10, 2014 at 9:01 am

    I have seen splintered a few times now so I shall have to pick it up!. Great list, thanks for sharing.
    http://wp.me/p3ftwe-sU

    Like

I'd love to know what you think!

Books Are My Thing

Some women collect shoes, others collect purses. I collect books.

Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need Spoiler-Free Reviews In A Pinch

Eat well, Live well

“Let food be your medicine and your medicine be your food” – Hippocrates

teach from the heart

musings of a teacher, parent, and life-long learner

Mile High Reading

“Books to the ceiling, Books to the sky, My pile of books is a mile high. How I love them! How I need them! I'll have a long beard by the time I read them.” - Arnold Lobel

Reading with Analysis

Reading without reflecting is like eating without digesting - Edmund Burke

GreenFloss

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Soils Matter, Get the Scoop!

What's the dirt on soil? Find out here.

