Books Are My Thing – HAS MOVED!

Please visit www.booksaremything.com to continue following my blog!

Book Review: Dark Lover by J.R. Ward

Before I get to my review… I finally got a Twitter account designated to my blogging!!!  GO FIND ME, @bookjunkiekrys!!!  If you’ve been following my personal twitter, I suggest switching to this one, I might actually use it more now that it has a purpose 🙂

 

 

This series was initially suggested to me several years ago – 2009 maybe?? – by a friend of mine that I had introduced a love of reading to through The Black Jewels Trilogy/Series. I added it to my list because I trusted his judgement on what I liked to read, but never took the time to look it up or check it out. Then at the beginning of this year, I joined the Goodreads and book blogging communities, and it seemed everyone was regularly toting the Black Dagger Brotherhood series (BDB for short). I decided it was high time I figured out what all the hype was about, and bought the first book, Dark Lover, for myself.

 

Click the image for the Goodreads summary.

Click the image for the Goodreads summary.

 

SWOON!!! Why did I wait so long to check out this series?!?!

I wasn’t sure what to think about this book as I started.  I’ve been somewhat vamped-out since the Twilight/True Blood craze.  However, I liked the fact that these vampires needed to feed off each other to survive, rather than humans.  I also wasn’t expecting the quasi-zombie species either, and it’s cool that this story isn’t the typical human vs vampire storyline.

Some people don’t like the insta-love plot, and I’m often in that boat. But I really liked the way Ward twisted that idea into a more carnal version of “finding the one.”  And, going back to the typical human/vampire story line, the human-girl-falls-for-vampire-guy theme, while used, was used in a completely different way because Beth was about to turn into a vampire herself.

Are you noticing a trend yet?  Ward uses A LOT of stereotypical themes in this book, but she turned them on their head in a very refreshing way.  I’ll be curious to see how this goes in the following books (particularly since I just picked up several of them during my last book haul!).

 

Now, this is a paranormal romance, so let’s get to the steamy parts.  So hot!  Ward does a great job of playing out the steamy scenes without making them completely corny.  Also, I am all about dominant male characters in romance novels, and there are boatloads of them in this book! I liked the fact that Beth was an independent woman though too.  Too often in romance the woman is a submissive soggy blanket, which can be boring to read after a while.  Instead, Beth proves she can handle herself while still caring for Wrath and walking the fine line of give and take control between them.

 

Overall, I really loved Dark Lover, and couldn’t find much of anything wrong with it.  We don’t get a ton of background on the characters and world setting in this book beyond the essential info we need, but that’s clearly because there’s so many other books in the series.  Even so, Ward does give us at least hints of the back story on most of the brothers.

 

If you’re one of the few, like me, that has yet to pick up this series, I highly suggest you check it out!  I look forward to picking up Lover Eternal and learning about a different BDB member!

 

5 out of 5Do you prefer series that lead the same character(s) in each book, or do you like when they focus on different characters?

4 responses to “Book Review: Dark Lover by J.R. Ward

  1. Pingback: June Book Round-up (and July Preview) - Books Are My Thing

  2. Pingback: June Book Round-up (and July Preview) | Books Are My Thing

  3. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday {13}: Best Books I’ve Read So Far This Year | Books Are My Thing

  4. downthebookhole June 5, 2014 at 3:23 pm

    Great review! I definitely think I will pick this book up soon!

    Like

I'd love to know what you think!

Books Are My Thing

Some women collect shoes, others collect purses. I collect books.

Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need Spoiler-Free Reviews In A Pinch

Eat well, Live well

“Let food be your medicine and your medicine be your food” – Hippocrates

teach from the heart

musings of a teacher, parent, and life-long learner

Mile High Reading

“Books to the ceiling, Books to the sky, My pile of books is a mile high. How I love them! How I need them! I'll have a long beard by the time I read them.” - Arnold Lobel

Reading with Analysis

Reading without reflecting is like eating without digesting - Edmund Burke

GreenFloss

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Soils Matter, Get the Scoop!

What's the dirt on soil? Find out here.

