Books Are My Thing – HAS MOVED!

Please visit www.booksaremything.com to continue following my blog!

Top Ten Tuesday {12}: Book That Will Be in My Beach Bag

TTT2As always, this weekly book blog meme is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

 

I thought this week’s TTT might be fun, despite the fact that I won’t be going to the beach for another month and a half.  I also feel the need to throw out a disclaimer here: there’s a GREAT chance that none of these books will make their way to the beach with me.  You guys know how much of a mood reader I am, and books I think I’ll take with me now are not guaranteed to still be on my radar come July.  Still, it’s been interesting to come up with a list.  I am not the typical bring-light-and-airy-books-to-the-beach kind of person, so don’t go looking for those around here!  Some of these were chosen for their size though, because I’d love to fly through a few books during my week of lounging.

 
Sorry I’m missing a photo this week, things got messed up with my posts!
 

The Rithmatist by Brandon Sanderson.  I have heard SO MANY great things about Brandon Sanderson, but *cringe* I’ve NEVER READ ANYTHING BY HIM!!  Ack, I know, how can I possibly love the sci-fi/fantasy genres and never had read Sanderson?  This book will change that!

Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher.  I keep eyeing up this book and then choosing something else.  It’s YA, which means it’ll be easier reading, and I look forward to the mystery of it.

The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger.  Somehow I managed to miss this often required reading in school.  It’s a short book, but one of the few classics I actually want to read.

Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn.  As soon as I dig myself out of the many-books-going-at-the-same-time hole that I’m currently in, I AM reading Gone Girl.  Sharp Objects is smaller but still promises to be a great thriller.

The Golden Compass by Philip Pullman.  I recently picked up the His Dark Materials trilogy at the library sale, and I’d love to add that series to my 2014 Series Challenge completion list.

Chocolat by Joanne Harris.  I’d like to watch the movie (hello Johnny Depp!), and this is a short one that’s been lingering on my shelves since last summer.

A Journey to the Center of the Earth by Jules Verne.  Another short classic that I’ve never read (but have seen the movie many times!)

Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick.  Another YA I’ve been itching to pick up but haven’t yet.

Slaughterhouse-Five by Kurt Vonnegut.  I really need to get these shorter classics off my plate!

Message In a Bottle by Nicholas Sparks.  It IS a beach novel after all… I had to throw at least one in there!

 

 

What books might make it into your beach (and/or vacation) bag?

As always, if you’re visiting from The Broke and the Bookish, please post your TTT link so that I can visit you!

9 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday {12}: Book That Will Be in My Beach Bag

  1. Pingback: June Book Round-up (and July Preview) | Books Are My Thing

  2. Anna (MI) June 4, 2014 at 8:42 pm

    Yay for Brandon Sanderson! I read The Rithmatist and Steelheart in the near-recent past, and really enjoyed them both. Plus, his Alcatraz and the Evil Librarians series is hilarious! Great list.

    My TTT:

    http://diamondinroughcoal.blogspot.com/2014/06/top-ten-tuesday-19-beach-bag-reads.html

    Like

  3. Caitie F June 4, 2014 at 3:26 pm

    Great list! I really need to read The Rithmatist and Thirteen Reasons Why too. A Journey to the Center of the Earth is such a great book. Jules Verne is incredibly talented.

    Like

  4. downthebookhole June 3, 2014 at 7:37 pm

    Ive thought about reading the Dark Materials Trilogy, but have heard some mixed reviews from some friends. I would love to hear what you think if you get around to them. Also 13 Reasons Why is a very sad book, but is a very fast easy read!

    Like

  5. Jaime (The World for the Reading) June 3, 2014 at 6:30 pm

    Kurt Vonnegut is one of my favorite authors, Slaughterhouse Five is great.

    Like

  6. Sarah J. June 3, 2014 at 5:32 pm

    I enjoyed Thirteen Reasons Why and Hush, Hush was decent at the time I read it (I was in middle school and loved it but my tastes have changed). Great picks!

    Like

  7. Krystianna (@DwnritDystopian) June 3, 2014 at 4:11 pm

    Great picks! Across the Universe & The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer are two of my favorite books. I’ve heard great things about Brandon Sanderson’s novels; I may have to check his books out over the summer.
    Krystianna @ Downright Dystopian

    Like

I'd love to know what you think!

Books Are My Thing

Some women collect shoes, others collect purses. I collect books.

Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need Spoiler-Free Reviews In A Pinch

Eat well, Live well

“Let food be your medicine and your medicine be your food” – Hippocrates

teach from the heart

musings of a teacher, parent, and life-long learner

Mile High Reading

“Books to the ceiling, Books to the sky, My pile of books is a mile high. How I love them! How I need them! I'll have a long beard by the time I read them.” - Arnold Lobel

Reading with Analysis

Reading without reflecting is like eating without digesting - Edmund Burke

GreenFloss

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Soils Matter, Get the Scoop!

What's the dirt on soil? Find out here.

