Books Are My Thing – HAS MOVED!

Please visit www.booksaremything.com to continue following my blog!

Memorial Day Weekend Book Haul!

Anyone else have a tough time at work yesterday after having Monday off?  Woo, thank goodness it is Wednesday already, because this is shaping up to be a looonnnggggg 4-day week.

 

Oh man, my May round up is going to be CHOCK FULL O’ BOOKS!  Between my Spring Library Book Sale book haul and this one, I’ve picked up a ton of books this month.  This weekend’s hoard was planned however, haha.

I was in Ocean City, New Jersey this weekend for a wedding.  If you’ve been following me for a while, you may remember me mentioning a little used bookstore that’s there, Bookateria Two.  Well, several of us got together a good sized box of books (33 to be exact), and we took them down to trade in.  This is the huge haul I came away with:

 

wpid-img_20140524_142238924.jpg

Slaughterhouse-Five by Kurt Vonnegut

Flowers in the Attic by V.C. Andrews

The Westing Game by Ellen Raskin (I just really wanted to own this after being reminded of how much I loved it when I was younger)

Dark Places by Gillian Flynn

Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn (I also have Gone Girl sitting on my shelf… I sense an author binge read at some point)

Oryx and Crake by Margaret Atwood (The first in a trilogy recommended to me)

In The Woods by Tana French

The Rithmatist by Brandon Sanderson (Realized after I picked it up that it’s an ARC copy… jealous of the original owner!)

The Eyes of the Dragon by Stephen King (How have I not read this one?!?!)

Lover Eternal (BDB #2) by J.R. Ward

Lover Awakened (BDB #3) by J.R. Ward

Lover Revealed (BDB #4) by J.R. Ward

Lover Unbound (BDB #5) by J.R. Ward

Lover Enshrined (BDB #6) by J.R. Ward

I was especially excited to find so many of the Black Dagger Brotherhood books, and in mostly near-pristine condition!  It was a great haul, and I have officially cut myself off from library books for a while unless it’s for book club or the like.  I need to read more of the ones I own, because I have no space for these books right now!!

Have you read any of these books?  What did you think of it?

Did you buy or read any great books over Memorial Day weekend?

11 responses to “Memorial Day Weekend Book Haul!

  1. Alex @ The Shelf Diaries June 1, 2014 at 11:55 am

    Found you via another blogger :3
    Such a great haul! I have been wanting to read the Black Dagger Brotherhood series for a long time. I am glad you got them and I look forward to your thoughts!
    Enjoy all of your books, lovely! 🙂
    Alex @ The Shelf Diaries

    Like

  2. Pingback: May Book Round-up | Books Are My Thing

  3. Hayley Knighten May 29, 2014 at 6:47 pm

    Gone Girl is amazing! I just got Sharp Objects and Dark Places myself and am looking forward to reading them.

    Like

  4. queenmoodycow May 29, 2014 at 12:13 pm

    You will LOVE Oryx And Crake! I adored it, possibly a little too much as the next two paled in comparison imho.
    So glad I found your blog, and that there’s someone else who photos their book haul outside of reddit. 😉

    Like

    • Bookjunkiekrystal June 12, 2014 at 7:23 am

      Sorry, your comment got lost in the shuffle at some point! I’m definitely looking forward to Oryx and Crake, it came highly recommended to me! Also, I don’t know anyone who uses reddit, haha. If you check out some of the blogs I follow, you’ll definitely find more people that post book hauls 🙂

      Like

  5. downthebookhole May 28, 2014 at 12:32 pm

    Have you read the first one in the Black Dagger Brotherhood? I have thought about picking it up, but I am still on the fence.

    Like

  6. ryandejonghe May 28, 2014 at 9:41 am

    I’ve heard SHARP OBJECTS is up for the next movie (after what looks to be a great adaptation of GONE GIRL). I’ll be curious what you think of the books (haven’t read either of the two pictured). My wife tore through BLACK DAGGER, enjoying the trip.

    Like

I'd love to know what you think!

Books Are My Thing

Some women collect shoes, others collect purses. I collect books.

Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need Spoiler-Free Reviews In A Pinch

Eat well, Live well

“Let food be your medicine and your medicine be your food” – Hippocrates

teach from the heart

musings of a teacher, parent, and life-long learner

Mile High Reading

“Books to the ceiling, Books to the sky, My pile of books is a mile high. How I love them! How I need them! I'll have a long beard by the time I read them.” - Arnold Lobel

Reading with Analysis

Reading without reflecting is like eating without digesting - Edmund Burke

GreenFloss

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Soils Matter, Get the Scoop!

What's the dirt on soil? Find out here.

