Books Are My Thing – HAS MOVED!

Please visit www.booksaremything.com to continue following my blog!

Top Ten Tuesday {11}: Book Series I Haven’t Started

TTT2As always, this weekly book blog meme is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

 

For some reason it feels like forever since I did a TTT, even though it’s only been two weeks.  This week’s was a FREEBIE, meaning we could pick any topic we chose.  I have a lot of book series that I want to read at some point, but haven’t touched yet, for one reason or another.  Here are some of them, in no particular order.  If you think I need to bump any of these up in my TBR list, let me know!  I’m PRETTY SURE some of you are just going to shake your head at me for not having read these yet, especially given that I read a lot of sci-fi/fantasy/dystopia/YA!!

 

Book Series I Haven’t Started
Series

 

Daughter of Smoke and Bone.  This series has been on my TBR list since I heard of it at the beginning of the year.  I recently managed to snatch up the first one at the local book sale, so now it’s just a matter of getting around to starting it!

A Song of Ice And Fire.  Oh how I want to read these books!  I started Game of Thrones last summer, then put it down halfway through and haven’t gone back to it.  We even own the first four!  I want to read the books before I watch the series (thank you HBO GO), but I keep dragging my feet.  I think the problem is I’ve been feeling a pressure to read a certain amount lately, and I know this series would slow me down (but that’s a post for another day).

Outlander.  I’ve heard great things about this series, and there are several bloggers I follow that love it.  My problem is that these books are SO intimidating!  An average 500-600 page SK novel will take me about a month to get through, given that I hop around with books depending on my mood.  These are like 800-1000 pages each.

The Grisha.  Now that the final book is out, I’d love to snatch these all up at once.  One of these days…

The Mortal Instruments.  PRETTY SURE I’m the only lover of fantasy and/or YA that hasn’t started this series yet.  Sigh.  This is again one of those that I know I’ll love, and I’ve kind of been waiting to just buy them all at once so I can binge read.  Binge reading series is one of my favorite things to do 🙂

Shatter Me.  I think this series has really lost steam since it wrapped up, but it still intrigues me and I want to read it, at some point.

The Caster Chronicles.  I’ve wanted to read this series for ages, but always end up buying other books.

Hush, Hush.  The first book of this quartet is sitting on my shelf.  I just have to get around to it.

Across the Universe.  Again, another trilogy where I have the first book on my shelf and just need to get to it.

Myra Dyer.  To be honest, I wasn’t sold on this series at first.  But I have heard so many things about it that I want to read at least the first one and see what I think.

 

 

What popular book series have you not started?

Do you recommend any of these books over others?

As always, if you’re visiting from The Broke and the Bookish, please post your TTT link so that I can visit you!

12 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday {11}: Book Series I Haven’t Started

  1. Pingback: May Book Round-up | Books Are My Thing

  2. anotherafterthought May 28, 2014 at 10:58 am

    I hear ya. At least the possibility of binge reading them (assuming you enjoy them, at least) is an added bonus for clearing up some series on your TBR!

    Cheers,
    joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts

    Like

  3. nomoney4books May 27, 2014 at 2:11 pm

    Shadow and Bone is a fantastic book! As are all the ones on your list that I’ve managed to read. 🙂 Outlander and Mara Dyer are on my TBR list as well. And good idea on holding off on the HBO GOT series until you start the books, it’s hard to watch the series and then try and dive into the books. Hasn’t worked out well for me that way. 😦

    Like

  4. Clair. May 27, 2014 at 12:51 pm

    Good list! I read Shatter Me and it was just okay

    Like

  5. Rachel May 27, 2014 at 12:19 pm

    8 of these series make my list of books I haven’t started either. There. is. not. enough. time!! Looking forward to a lot of them though.

    My TTT: http://confessionsofabookgeek.wordpress.com/2014/05/27/top-ten-tuesday-remembering-alfie/

    Like

  6. kelley May 27, 2014 at 11:49 am

    There are a lot of series out there to read aren’t there? kelley—the road goes ever ever on

    Like

  7. downthebookhole May 27, 2014 at 11:02 am

    Besides the Shatter Me Trilogy (I have read the first book in the Mortal Instruments and Caster Chronicles) all of these series are on my list of book series I haven’t started yet. I am hoping to change that very soon!

    Like

  8. cageofedenaddict May 27, 2014 at 7:16 am

    For me it is the hunger games I read 75 pages of the first one and didn’t like it enough to continue

    Like

I'd love to know what you think!

Books Are My Thing

Some women collect shoes, others collect purses. I collect books.

Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need Spoiler-Free Reviews In A Pinch

Eat well, Live well

“Let food be your medicine and your medicine be your food” – Hippocrates

teach from the heart

musings of a teacher, parent, and life-long learner

Mile High Reading

“Books to the ceiling, Books to the sky, My pile of books is a mile high. How I love them! How I need them! I'll have a long beard by the time I read them.” - Arnold Lobel

Reading with Analysis

Reading without reflecting is like eating without digesting - Edmund Burke

GreenFloss

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Soils Matter, Get the Scoop!

What's the dirt on soil? Find out here.

