Books Are My Thing – HAS MOVED!

Please visit www.booksaremything.com to continue following my blog!

Amazon Rules the Bookish World… And We Let It

How many of us buy books on Amazon regularly, because they are cheaper than the local bookstore, chain or not?

Better yet, how many of us either own a Kindle or use the Kindle app on a regular basis?  (NetGalley users, you better be raising your hands!  Amazon is still getting something out of you for using that app, even if you aren’t paying for the book.)

Now, when was the last time you stopped to consider how Amazon might be INFLUENCING what you or other people buy?

 

You might be wondering what I’m getting at here.  Thing is, Amazon is using its influence on us to better pad its pockets.

 

Don’t get me wrong, I shop on Amazon occasionally.  But I try to use it for things I can’t find/buy locally.  And I’ve really tried to stop using it to buy books, particularly after hearing what Amazon does to publishers.

If you haven’t heard about what’s going on, check out this article from the New York Times.  The basic gist is that Hachette Book Group’s contract with Amazon is up, and Amazon is now making consumers wait 2-3 weeks (sometimes more!) after publication date before it will allow you to buy any Hachette books from its site.  Some books also cost more as well, particularly ebooks.  Well-known authors from this publisher include James Patterson, Malcolm Gladwell and Stephen Colbert.

Think about it.  The first 2-3 books are often the most crucial weeks.  Not only is Amazon hurting Hachette, it’s hurting the authors who worked hard on those books, and the consumers who want to buy those books.  And, if you read the article, this is not the first time Amazon has thrown its weight around with a publishing house.

There is also this article from Forbes, that goes further into detail about the Amazon/Hachette situation.  It points out that Amazon is not the only one to blame, Barnes & Noble has also used similar tactics.  I’m sure there are other instances too.

 

Guys, we can’t let big brands get away with this!  We need to get back to our roots and start buying books the same way we’ve slowly started buying our food again… LOCALLY.  The next time you want a book, check out your local library/book sale/used or new bookstore.  Not only will you find great people in your own community gracious for your business (and often willing to order a book for you if they don’t carry it themselves), you never know what else you might get from that trip.  Maybe you bump into someone as you’re studying a shelf of books, only to end up discussing the favorite genre you have in common for the next hour.  Or maybe you find out that they host book clubs regularly, covering books you really enjoy.  No matter what it is, I almost guarantee you will experience so much more of the bookish world that way than you ever possibly can sitting in front of the computer as you are now.  AND you’ll be supporting your community instead of the super-giant that is Amazon.

 

(Oh, and in case you’re wondering, Amazon has many other companies/websites under its umbrella, including the infamous Book Depository.  Just go to their homepage and scroll all the way down.  You’ll be amazed.)

 

16 responses to “Amazon Rules the Bookish World… And We Let It

  1. Pingback: Book Club! - Books Are My Thing

  2. Pingback: Amazon Rules the Bookish World... Part 2 - Books Are My Thing

  3. Lee Talmage July 10, 2014 at 11:27 am

    I try and limit my amazon purchases to those items sold by Used Book shops on amazon. I also use Abe for the same reason. Unfortunately frequenting the used shops I love, is not a daily option. Enjoy the blog.

    Like

  4. Pingback: Amazon Rules the Bookish World… Part 2 | Books Are My Thing

  5. Pingback: May Book Round-up | Books Are My Thing

  6. linnetmoss May 22, 2014 at 7:38 am

    I plead guilty to overusing Amazon, and yes, they’ve employed some horrific business tactics. I also don’t agree with their labor practices. On the other hand, they’ve been brilliant at providing a platform for Indie authors who aren’t interested in traditional publishing. Including me–and I’m really grateful for that. So when it comes to Amazon, I feel cognitive dissonance…

    Like

  7. Pingback: Book Club! | Books Are My Thing

  8. myria101 May 21, 2014 at 3:08 pm

    I borrow books from my library through the Overdrive app on my iPad. I also have bought some from Half Price Books by my house. I haven’t bought a book from Amazon in awhile, but not because they’re so-called monsters. I’m just poor so borrowing for free is my go-to. Ha!

    Like

    • Bookjunkiekrystal May 21, 2014 at 4:14 pm

      Ha, I totally understand. I know how great Amazon can be, having lived in a very rural area for three years. But it really rankles me that they are doing this to the publishing houses, and I just couldn’t stand by without saying something!

      Like

  9. ryandejonghe May 21, 2014 at 12:57 pm

    Ouch! You got me. I’m hooked on Amazon (sorry). However, I absolutely love indpendently owned book stores. Love them! The sensory appeal to these stores is unmatched: the smell, the sounds–the sights! Each has their own unique flavor. The recent Storied Life of A.J. Fikry nails that mystique down really well.

    Like

  10. Cabin Fever Books Ltd. May 21, 2014 at 12:19 pm

    Reblogged this on Cabin Fever Books Ltd..

    Like

  11. Amy May 20, 2014 at 9:12 pm

    So enjoyed this post and couldn’t agree more! Amazon is a bully and working very hard to be the only place to go for books. Recently decided to “breakup” with an author that decided to release exclusively from Amazon. Granted I know B&N has plenty of their own tricks, but they are still a physical bookstore, albeit not a mom & pop shop. Personally I have decided to no loner review books that are only sold through Amazon and am no longer going to be buying any books from them.

    Like

I'd love to know what you think!

Books Are My Thing

Some women collect shoes, others collect purses. I collect books.

Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need Spoiler-Free Reviews In A Pinch

Eat well, Live well

“Let food be your medicine and your medicine be your food” – Hippocrates

teach from the heart

musings of a teacher, parent, and life-long learner

Mile High Reading

“Books to the ceiling, Books to the sky, My pile of books is a mile high. How I love them! How I need them! I'll have a long beard by the time I read them.” - Arnold Lobel

Reading with Analysis

Reading without reflecting is like eating without digesting - Edmund Burke

GreenFloss

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Soils Matter, Get the Scoop!

What's the dirt on soil? Find out here.

