Books Are My Thing – HAS MOVED!

Please visit www.booksaremything.com to continue following my blog!

Bout of Books 10 Wrap-Up

Bout of Books

Well, Bout of Books is officially over!  It was fun and interesting, I just wish I could have taken part in more of it.  I never got much chance to visit other blogs participating, beyond those I currently follow, and I also never got the chance to participate in any of the mini-challenges.  Truth be told, life really got in my way; I didn’t even read as much as I desired to, especially over the weekend.  Still, I read quite a bit and made some good progress with my reading overall.

 

So, how’d I do?  Well if you remember from my goals post, I wanted to read 3 books, read all of Dragon’s Keep, and make a good dent in Doctor Sleep.  I decided in my starting point post that I would quantify “3 books” based on the number of pages (250 being the average length of a novel), since I’m always in the middle of reading multiple books.  I aimed high with 1000 pages, but was hoping for at least 750.  Drumroll please…..

 

Monday’s Progress

Tuesday’s Progress

Wednesday’s Progress

Thursday’s Progress

Friday’s Progress

 

Overall Bout of Books Results:

  • I read all of Dragon’s Keep!!!!
  • I got past halfway on Doctor Sleep, definitely making a good dent in it!
  • Total pages read (doesn’t include audiobook obviously) = 692
  • Physical Books completed = 1
  • Books completed based on # of pages read (see Starting Point post) = 2.9

 

I got super close to completing all my goals, only about 60 pages away.  Honestly, I could have done it, but I did about zero reading on Saturday, which is what killed me.  Oh well, I still did more reading than usual, and that’s what counts.  And, in case you were wondering, here’s my overall book progress.  As you can see, I wasn’t really in the mood to pick up two of these during my week of reading, that tends to be how it goes for me sometimes.

 

My Book Progress:

  • Fire by Kristin Cashore, audiobook: Disc 9, Track 4 –> Completed approximately 8 discs, with 9 tracks each.  Almost finished since there are 10 discs in all.  (Yes, I’ll be picking up Bitterblue very shortly so I can finish the trilogy!  Unfortunately my library doesn’t have that one in audio!)
  • Doctor Sleep by Stephen King: pg 288 –> 235 pages read
  • Dragon’s Keep by Janet Lee Carey: Finished  –> 302 pages in all
  • Paterno by Joe Posnanski: pg 85  –> 23 pages, I didn’t really read much of this
  • Confessions of a Shopaholic by Sophie Kinsella: pg 99  –> Didn’t touch this
  • Fixed On You by Laurelin Paige: pg 109  –>  Started this during B.O.B., I’m about halfway through this.
  • Have A Little Faith by Mitch Albom: pg 23  –> Just started this near the end of B.O.B., but it is a short read so I hope to finish it sometime soon.

 

 

If you participated in Bout of Books, how did you do??

If you didn’t participate in Bout of Books, what is your opinion on Read-A-Thons?

6 responses to “Bout of Books 10 Wrap-Up

  1. Pingback: May Book Round-up | Books Are My Thing

  2. Karsyn May 19, 2014 at 4:32 pm

    Congrats on getting so close to your goals, that’s great!! 🙂 Here are my Bob RaT Stats

    Like

  3. missbookreader09 May 19, 2014 at 11:46 am

    I had so much fun with the read-a-thon! I was able to finish the books I had started! Huzzah! Glad to see you had fun as well. It sucks when life gets in the way, but hey, we both did awesome in my book. 🙂

    Like

  4. Sarah @ Flood of Books, etc. May 19, 2014 at 7:50 am

    I hear you about life getting in the way. I think you did great though! I did more of the social stuff and neglected my reading. There is always August!

    Like

I'd love to know what you think!

Books Are My Thing

Some women collect shoes, others collect purses. I collect books.

Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need Spoiler-Free Reviews In A Pinch

Eat well, Live well

“Let food be your medicine and your medicine be your food” – Hippocrates

teach from the heart

musings of a teacher, parent, and life-long learner

Mile High Reading

“Books to the ceiling, Books to the sky, My pile of books is a mile high. How I love them! How I need them! I'll have a long beard by the time I read them.” - Arnold Lobel

Reading with Analysis

Reading without reflecting is like eating without digesting - Edmund Burke

GreenFloss

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Soils Matter, Get the Scoop!

What's the dirt on soil? Find out here.

