Books Are My Thing – HAS MOVED!

Please visit www.booksaremything.com to continue following my blog!

Bout of Books 10.0 Start!!

As mentioned in Friday’s post, I wanted to do a baseline report before Bout of Books starts, so that I know how much progress I make over the week.

My goal is to complete 3 books, since my weekly average is around 1.5. However, I am in the middle of several books, so I decided to break that down into pages read instead of complete books.

According to a Google search, the standard average number of words on a page is 250, and according to this article from the Huffington Post, there are about 64,000 words in the average novel. Therefore, every 256 pages I read will count as a book read. This seems pretty low to me??  I definitely think I can get 768 pages done this week, and may just aim for 1,000.

 

Here’s where I currently stand:

  • Fire by Kristin Cashore, audiobook: Disc 1, Track 6 (This won’t really count towards my total, but it’ll be interesting to see how much I can get through this week regardless.)
  • Doctor Sleep by Stephen King: pg 53
  • Dragon’s Keep by Janet Lee Carey: not started (Definitely want to try to get this one finished or almost finished!)
  • Paterno by Joe Posnanski: pg 62 (This is nonfiction, so I don’t expect to fly through this.)
  • Confessions of a Shopaholic by Sophie Kinsella: pg 99 (This is my “I am waiting for something and have nothing else to do so I’m going to pull this up on my phone and read a few pages” book. I don’t intend to get far with it.)
  • Book from my TBR shelf based on my mood: not started
  • Book from my TBR shelf based on my mood: not started

 

I will be posting a new update every evening of this week, so follow along!

 

Now, if you will excuse me, it’s time to get settled in for Once Upon A Time’s 2-hour season finale!  I’m hoping for more Emma and Hook lovin’!!!  😉

kiss-hook-emma-kiss-breathe-in

19 responses to “Bout of Books 10.0 Start!!

  1. Pingback: Bout of Books 10 - Wednesday - Books Are My Thing

  2. Pingback: Bout of Books 10 - Friday - Books Are My Thing

  3. Pingback: Bout of Books 10 - Thursday - Books Are My Thing

  4. Pingback: Bout of Books 10 Wrap-Up - Books Are My Thing

  5. Pingback: May Book Round-up - Books Are My Thing

  6. Pingback: Bout of Books 10 - Tuesday - Books Are My Thing

  7. Pingback: Bout of Books 10 - Monday - Books Are My Thing

  8. Pingback: May Book Round-up | Books Are My Thing

  9. Pingback: Bout of Books 10 Wrap-Up | Books Are My Thing

  10. Pingback: Bout of Books 10 – Friday | Books Are My Thing

  11. Pingback: Bout of Books 10 – Thursday | Books Are My Thing

  12. Pingback: Bout of Books 10 – Wednesday | Books Are My Thing

  13. Pingback: Bout of Books 10 – Tuesday | Books Are My Thing

  14. Pingback: Bout of Books 10 – Monday | Books Are My Thing

  15. Charleen May 12, 2014 at 5:23 pm

    That seems on the low side to me too, but maybe that’s just because most books I read are more in the 300-450 page range. Regardless, looks like you’ve got some solid reading ahead.

    Like

  16. Amy May 11, 2014 at 8:57 pm

    Love Once Upon a Time!!! Hook and Emma have such great chemistry, but I have to say Mr.Gold is my favorite character on the show.

    Like

    • Bookjunkiekrystal May 11, 2014 at 10:38 pm

      So do you think it’s Elsa from Frozen? Seems to be the popular thought. I’m thinking Jadis from Narnia… Narnia would be WAY COOL.

      Like

      • Amy May 12, 2014 at 8:56 am

        I saw a promo on Facebook this morning that said Frozen is coming to Once. Personally I would rather have Narnia. The way they are going I’m sure they will get around to working it in to the story somehow too. Great finale though, except for how Regina got the shaft, so want her to find happiness. Guess I just really like the “bad” guys in that show.

        Like

I'd love to know what you think!

Books Are My Thing

Some women collect shoes, others collect purses. I collect books.

Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need Spoiler-Free Reviews In A Pinch

Eat well, Live well

“Let food be your medicine and your medicine be your food” – Hippocrates

teach from the heart

musings of a teacher, parent, and life-long learner

Mile High Reading

“Books to the ceiling, Books to the sky, My pile of books is a mile high. How I love them! How I need them! I'll have a long beard by the time I read them.” - Arnold Lobel

Reading with Analysis

Reading without reflecting is like eating without digesting - Edmund Burke

GreenFloss

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Soils Matter, Get the Scoop!

What's the dirt on soil? Find out here.

