Books Are My Thing – HAS MOVED!

Please visit www.booksaremything.com to continue following my blog!

Bout of Books 10.0!

Bout of Books

 

As I’m sure a lot of you have heard by now, a new Bout of Books Read-A-Thon is happening the week of Monday May 12th. I REALLY wanted to participate as soon as I heard about it, but I knew what would happen. I would read a bunch of books and then be EVEN MORE behind on my reviews. So, I decided that I wasn’t going to commit until I was COMPLETELY caught up on my book reviews. That meant I had to write 5 reviews this week, on top of traveling and 12+ hour days hiking in the field for work. Gah, how did I manage to get SO FAR BEHIND?? Anyway, I successfully managed to kick my own behind and got all my review drafts done, as of just now, lol.  Being that far behind really puts a damper on my blogging, I’ve gotta try to stay more on top of things in the future.

So now I get to participate in Bout of Books, starting on Monday! 🙂

 

Don’t know what Bout-of-Books is? Here’s a great little blurb:

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, May 12th and runs through Sunday, May 18th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure, and the only reading competition is between you and your usual number of books read in a week. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 10 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. – From the Bout of Books team

 

Sounds like fun right?!?! I still have SO MANY BOOKS on my TBR list. I’ve read a few newer releases since starting this blog in January, but most of my reads this year have been at least several years old, and I feel like I still have a TON of older books on my list. I’m going to use this read-a-thon week to continue tackling those. My unread bookshelf at home is overflowing at the moment, thanks to my fantastic spring sale book haul, and I’ve got to get some of those books read!

 

So what are my specific goals? Well, my reading average seems to be about 1.33 books per week, so I’m going to aim to double that and complete at least three in the coming week!! Because I’m always in the middle of several books at any particular time, I’m going to note the current status of my ongoing books in a quick post on Sunday with a rough percentage of completion, so that I can better judge how much reading I get done by the end of the week. I’d love to get my May Lost or Forgotten selection, Dragon’s Keep by Janet Lee Casey, read right off the bat (I haven’t started it yet). I’d also like to make a sizable dent in reading Doctor Sleep by Stephen King.  Other than that, I will probably try to pick out other books on my unread shelf to read, but these will depend on my mood.

 

My job is obviously going to get in the way of this, as is a wedding this coming weekend.  Still, I feel confident I can get two to three hours of reading in a day, which would still be a lot of reading than is typical.  Doing this read-a-thon, I fear that I will get behind on writing my reviews again. We shall see, but I’m excited about devoting a week to reading!  🙂

22 responses to “Bout of Books 10.0!

  1. Pingback: Bout of Books 10 - Tuesday - Books Are My Thing

  2. Pingback: Bout of Books 10 Wrap-Up - Books Are My Thing

  3. Pingback: Bout of Books 10 - Friday - Books Are My Thing

  4. Pingback: Bout of Books 10 - Thursday - Books Are My Thing

  5. Pingback: Bout of Books 10 - Wednesday - Books Are My Thing

  6. Pingback: Bout of Books 10.0 Start!! - Books Are My Thing

  7. Pingback: May Book Round-up | Books Are My Thing

  8. Pingback: Bout of Books 10 Wrap-Up | Books Are My Thing

  9. Pingback: Bout of Books 10 – Friday | Books Are My Thing

  10. Pingback: Quotable Friday {9}: I love Fantasy | Books Are My Thing

  11. Pingback: Bout of Books 10 – Thursday | Books Are My Thing

  12. Pingback: Bout of Books 10 – Wednesday | Books Are My Thing

  13. Pingback: Bout of Books 10 – Tuesday | Books Are My Thing

  14. Pingback: Bout of Books 10 – Monday | Books Are My Thing

  15. Pingback: Bout of Books 10.0 Start!! | Books Are My Thing

  16. Mel@thedailyprophecy May 11, 2014 at 7:10 am

    I recommend reading Daughter of Smoke and Bone as one of your books 😀 It’s pretty good! Happy reading and good luck.
    Mel@thedailyprophecy

    Like

    • Bookjunkiekrystal May 11, 2014 at 9:57 am

      It’s definitely going to be read soon!! However, I’m dedicating the week to reading books I’ve owned for a while (minus Doctor Sleep), so I can stop them from staring at me from my TBR bookcase! lol

      Like

  17. ReviewsInAPinch May 10, 2014 at 11:12 am

    This sounds awesome! I’m definitely going to participate and it works out perfectly because I actually have the day off on Tuesday! Thanks for posting about this! 😀

    Like

  18. SarahClare May 10, 2014 at 6:53 am

    I really wanted to do this.. but I have a mammoth assignment to finish next week.. *cries*
    Ah well, next time, eh?

    Like

  19. Charleen May 9, 2014 at 9:14 pm

    Ooh, making yourself do homework before you can do Bout of Books… but at least you got it done! Good luck with all your goals! (And Doctor Sleep was really good… hope you like it!)

    Like

I'd love to know what you think!

Books Are My Thing

Some women collect shoes, others collect purses. I collect books.

Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need Spoiler-Free Reviews In A Pinch

Eat well, Live well

“Let food be your medicine and your medicine be your food” – Hippocrates

teach from the heart

musings of a teacher, parent, and life-long learner

Mile High Reading

“Books to the ceiling, Books to the sky, My pile of books is a mile high. How I love them! How I need them! I'll have a long beard by the time I read them.” - Arnold Lobel

Reading with Analysis

Reading without reflecting is like eating without digesting - Edmund Burke

GreenFloss

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Soils Matter, Get the Scoop!

What's the dirt on soil? Find out here.

