Books Are My Thing – HAS MOVED!

Please visit www.booksaremything.com to continue following my blog!

Book Review: Rosebush by Michele Jaffe

LOFB

 

Rosebush by Michele Jaffe was my April selection for a new monthly meme I’ve been doing, Lost or Forgotten Books.  You may find a review of March’s selection, Out of the Blue by Isabel Wolfe, here.

Rosebush by Michele Jaffe

Click the image for the Goodreads summary.

 

Let me start off by saying that the above was the cover on my book, and it had absolutely NOTHING to do with this book.  According to Goodreads, this is the original hardcover/paperback cover, which makes SO MUCH MORE SENSE:

 

7778996

 

I haven’t a clue how the cover got changed, but it seems whoever did it couldn’t have possibly read the book or knew anything about it.  I don’t even know who those characters might be.

Thankfully, I liked this book more than my March selection.  Which is a good thing, because if I had started out this meme with two completely lousy books, I would have considered ditching it and my Lost Or Forgotten books would probably remain on my shelves for all eternity.  (Yes, I’m exaggerating a bit.)

The book starts you at the end of the story, when Jane has figured out what happened, and then flashes back to the beginning.  I liked this, because the whole time I was trying to figure out whodunnit.  The cool part was that there was the “present” flashback, telling the events of what had just happened, and the “flashback” flashback, telling events that had happened in the past.  While it sounds confusing, it was typically pretty easy to differentiate what was going on.

I liked and despised Jane at the same time.  I liked that even though everyone was convinced she was crazy, she kept pushing for answers.  But MY GOD, she had zero self-worth.  She truly was the epitome of being a people-pleaser, and it just got on my nerves after a while.  I wanted to yell at her that her so-called great boyfriend was a worthless SOB, but you can’t really do that without getting strange looks, lol.

As for the rest of the characters, these kids did NOT give me that high schooler vibe, they felt more like college students.  Perhaps that’s because I’m from sheltered small town Pennsylvania – the book DOES take place on the Jersey Shore somewhere, which according to the show, is apparently party central?  Anyway, many of the high school characters came off as feeling fake to me.

There were several things in the book that seemed point-less.  For example, I understood that the author was trying to make the whole suppressed memories point, but the weeds in the lake dreams felt unnecessary.  Also, the struggle between Jane and her mom was annoying, and I’m not sure why the author chose to make SUCH a big deal about it.  And really, what teenager still calls their mom “Mommy”?

 

Okay, all that ranting makes it sound like I didn’t like the book much.  I loved the layout of the story and the plot twists, I just had issues with the characters and their relationships with each other.  Also, that cover, GAH.  I’d recommend this one to anyone who likes mystery and doesn’t mind high school nonsense.

3 out of 5

 

Have you ever read a book where the cover completely missed the mark?

3 responses to “Book Review: Rosebush by Michele Jaffe

  1. Pingback: Monthly Round-up: May 2014 - Books Are My Thing

  2. Pingback: Book Review: Dragon’s Keep by Janet Lee Carey | Books Are My Thing

  3. Pingback: May Book Round-up | Books Are My Thing

I'd love to know what you think!

Books Are My Thing

Some women collect shoes, others collect purses. I collect books.

Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need Spoiler-Free Reviews In A Pinch

Eat well, Live well

“Let food be your medicine and your medicine be your food” – Hippocrates

teach from the heart

musings of a teacher, parent, and life-long learner

Mile High Reading

“Books to the ceiling, Books to the sky, My pile of books is a mile high. How I love them! How I need them! I'll have a long beard by the time I read them.” - Arnold Lobel

Reading with Analysis

Reading without reflecting is like eating without digesting - Edmund Burke

GreenFloss

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Soils Matter, Get the Scoop!

What's the dirt on soil? Find out here.

