Books Are My Thing – HAS MOVED!

Please visit www.booksaremything.com to continue following my blog!

Top Ten Tuesday {10}: Books Covers I’d Frame as Art

TTT2As always, this weekly book blog meme is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

 

This week’s TTT is to list book covers I’d frame as art.  I’ve mentioned before how important I think book covers are to the literary world, here, as well as reblogged another post about book spines, here.  Book design/art are definitely one piece of the puzzle of why I prefer physical books over ebooks.

 

Art-Worthy Book Covers

Ugh

Splintered and Unhinged by A.G. Howard.  I had to start this list off with these. Seriously, these books are BEAUTIFUL, and I totally gushed over them in my Splintered review.  I love that Howard’s crew decided to still take the time to make the books look so pretty.

 

1474628

The Monsters of Templeton by Lauren Groff.  I had never heard of this book before I stumbled upon it at some bookstore.  I pretty much love anything with cool trees on it, especially since this one symbolizes the family connections.  I also loved the play of red amid all the black.

 

7784

The Lorax by Dr. Seuss.  Of COURSE I had to include a Dr. Seuss book here, after all his drawings are distinctive.  Not to mention that The Lorax, while somewhat depressing, is one of my favorite childhood books.  I speak for the trees!

 

4671

The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald.  This book is iconic, and I think the cover would look awesome hanging on the wall.  Enough said.

 

Caster ChroniclesThe Caster Chronicles by Kami Garcia.  This series is still on my to-read list, but I think the books are beautiful and definitely want to own them.

 

All Souls TrilogyThe All Souls Trilogy by Deborah Harkness.  I don’t know what it is about them really.  I listened to the first two on audio, but when Book of Life comes out this year, I’m definitely buying the set in hardback because they’re just so pretty.

 

Duma Key by Stephen King.  I couldn’t possibly make this list without putting a SK book on here, because I love his stuff.  A lot of his hardback covers go all the way around, which is really cool.  Many of them are also positively frightening, haha, but I love the juxtoposition of the beautiful beach scene with the darkness of the story on this one.

 

Inheritance CycleThe Inheritance Cycle by Christopher Paolini.  Because DRAGONS.

 

 

 

What book covers do you love?

As always, if you’re visiting from The Broke and the Bookish, please post your TTT link so that I can visit you!

14 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday {10}: Books Covers I’d Frame as Art

  1. Pingback: May Book Round-up | Books Are My Thing

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Book Covers I’d Frame As Pieces of Art | Brin's Book Blog

  3. anotherafterthought May 6, 2014 at 12:23 pm

    The Lorax inclusion made me smile. I think I glossed over the synopsis of Duma Key and if I remember correctly, it’s pretty fitting that out of all of the wonderful SK novels, you’d artsy up with that one!

    Cheers,
    joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts

    Like

  4. nomoney4books May 6, 2014 at 11:58 am

    Splintered is on my TBR list, the cover is great! I also love the Eragon series covers you chose, they’re so dramatic.

    Like

  5. Keri B. May 6, 2014 at 11:36 am

    This is a really excellent list. That Monster of Templeton cover is really neat. Did you end up reading the book? I’ve seen copies of the Duma Key cover before but I’ve never seen that one — it’s awesome. Here’s mine.

    Like

    • Bookjunkiekrystal May 6, 2014 at 1:39 pm

      Monsters of Templeton was definitely a good book! I love buying SK books in hardback because the front and back covers always form a larger picture, which is really cool and rare to see.

      Like

  6. ryandejonghe May 6, 2014 at 8:46 am

    What a cool idea. I’ve been recently enamored by the cover of The Martian, which I haven’t read yet. People say not to judge a book by its cover, but that’s hard to do!

    Like

  7. Priya May 6, 2014 at 8:37 am

    I love the The Monsters of Templeton cover. And the Christopher Paolini book covers would definitely look perfect framed together. Great picks!

    Like

  8. Caught Read Handed May 6, 2014 at 8:24 am

    Great list! I would frame several of these. I had never seen that cover for Duma Key (I only have the paperback). I LOVE it! It’s perfect for the story. Also, I haven’t read Splintered or Unhinged, but those covers are gorgeous. I just might have to check them out now.
    My TTT!

    Like

I'd love to know what you think!

Books Are My Thing

Some women collect shoes, others collect purses. I collect books.

Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need Spoiler-Free Reviews In A Pinch

Eat well, Live well

“Let food be your medicine and your medicine be your food” – Hippocrates

teach from the heart

musings of a teacher, parent, and life-long learner

Mile High Reading

“Books to the ceiling, Books to the sky, My pile of books is a mile high. How I love them! How I need them! I'll have a long beard by the time I read them.” - Arnold Lobel

Reading with Analysis

Reading without reflecting is like eating without digesting - Edmund Burke

GreenFloss

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Soils Matter, Get the Scoop!

What's the dirt on soil? Find out here.

