Books Are My Thing – HAS MOVED!

Please visit www.booksaremything.com to continue following my blog!

Top Ten Tuesday {9}: Swoon-worthy Men

TTT2As always, this weekly book blog meme is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

 

This week’s TTT is “Characters Who ________”.  Given how broad this topic is, I’m sure there’s going to be all kinds of fun lists out there today.  I decided, since I have yet to write a post about this, to go with men that I consider swoon-worthy.  I’m not a big fan of the “book boyfriend” title, but there are definitely characters that have made me weak in the knees while reading their books!

 

Ten Swoon-worthy Men

Daemon from The Black Jewels Trilogy by Anne Bishop.  Oh. My. Goodness.  For a long time I was convinced I was going to name a future child of mine Daemon, because I hardcore girl-crushed on him when I first read these books.  In fact, I actually didn’t enjoy as much the follow-up books that came after the initial trilogy, mainly because they had less and less of Daemon in them.

 

Christian Grey from the 50 Shades of Grey trilogy by E.L. James.  Oh come on, you know he made you swoon too.  And, as a huge fan of the TV show Once Upon A Time, I am ECSTATIC that Jamie Dornan is going to be playing Christian Grey in the up coming movie.  Hubba-hubba!

Noah Calhoun from The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks.  This is probably my all-time favorite love story, both in book and in movie.  Who wouldn’t swoon over a guy dedicating his life to the girl he loves?

Four from the Divergent trilogy by Veronica Roth.  There’s something about this tortured man who feels so passionately about Tris that just sucks you in.  And all the feels at the end of Allegiant?  Ahhhh!

Peeta from The Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins.  Not only is Peeta fighting for his life, but he’s also fighting for Katniss’ life AND her love.  The whole time I just wanted to scream at Katniss to FORGET GALE ALREADY.

James Stark from the House of Night series by P.C. Cast.  He’s so darn cocky and confident, yet does everything possible to protect Zoey.  He’s always there for her, going above and beyond his warrior duties.

Edward/Jacob from the Twilight series by Stephanie Meyers.  I might get lynched for this, but how could I NOT put them on this list?  While reading the books, I was Edward All. The. Way.  I just wanted Jacob to leave Bella alone already.  And then… I saw the movies.  I am totally team Jacob in the movies.  It might have something to do with just how darn HOT Taylor Lautner is, but I also saw a different side of Jacob in the movies as compared to how I saw him in the books.

Wrath from The Black Dagger Brotherhood by J.R. Ward, specifically Dark Lover.  I’ve only read the very first book of the BDB series, so I’m probably a little bias at the moment.  But every scene of him and Beth just made me swoon like crazy.  I love that he’s got such a huge weakness in the way of being almost blind, and yet he’s STILL such a strong and confident man.

Morpheus from the Splintered trilogy by A.G. Howard.  Oh gosh.  The tension between him and Alyssa is great, and ironically I love the way he uses persuasion to get Alyssa to see things his way.  I can’t wait for the concluding book, Ensnared, to come out next year.

 

What characters have made you swoon?

As always, if you’re visiting from The Broke and the Bookish, please post your TTT link so that I can visit you!

13 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday {9}: Swoon-worthy Men

  1. Pingback: April Book Round-up | Books Are My Thing

  2. Kritika April 23, 2014 at 6:23 pm

    I haven’t read a lot of these, but I agree with Four and Peeta 🙂
    I really want to read Splintered! I will have to get on that!

    – Kritika @ Snowflakes & Spider Silk
    Check out my 1-year blogversary giveaway~

    Like

  3. downthebookhole April 22, 2014 at 1:54 pm

    This is such a great list. So many great swoon worthy guys!

    Like

  4. myria101 April 22, 2014 at 11:42 am

    If you didn’t have Edward and Jacob on here then I think you would have been boo’d, especially by me! 😉 I am a wolf girl even though I do love the vampires. Also, since 50 was a Twi fanfic first and that’s the only version I’ve read, I picture Edward as Christian anyway, but the guy they chose for the movies is scrumptious! I don’t know that I’ll go see it when it’s out though because I refuse to read the rest of the books. I thought the writing was awful. To each their own of course.
    You definitely need to read the rest of the BDB series. The other Brothers are soooo delicious. Plus, the latest book out is Wrath again so you need to get on top of reading the others. You won’t regret it. They’re all such good boys to their females.
    Peeta! I so love Peeta. And Four, oh yeah.

    Like

  5. anotherafterthought April 22, 2014 at 10:45 am

    I can’t really say much for these but I was kind of sad when Dornan’s character got the boot from OUAT!

    Cheers,
    joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts

    Like

  6. nomoney4books April 22, 2014 at 10:45 am

    So I also had a Daemon character on my list, but it was a different one and for very different reasons! 🙂 How is that name pronounced… Damon? Demon? I also really liked Peeta in the Hunger Games and was annoyed that Katniss was hung up on Gale.

    Like

  7. Aimee April 22, 2014 at 10:39 am

    Yes to Peeta! I love how he’s totally sweet and not a douche. I really like Edward and Jacob, despite what a lot of other people say about Twilight. Both boys definitely made me swoon! Awesome list, Krystal!

    Aimee @ Deadly Darlings

    Like

  8. Amy April 22, 2014 at 9:07 am

    Great minds must think alike, this is the direction I picked for my yet to be written T10T list. Loved your list, several of these guys are in the running for my list too. So glad you enjoyed the first Black Dagger Brotherhood book, such a great series and world, with plenty of swoon worthy men.

    Like

I'd love to know what you think!

Books Are My Thing

Some women collect shoes, others collect purses. I collect books.

Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need Spoiler-Free Reviews In A Pinch

Eat well, Live well

“Let food be your medicine and your medicine be your food” – Hippocrates

teach from the heart

musings of a teacher, parent, and life-long learner

Mile High Reading

“Books to the ceiling, Books to the sky, My pile of books is a mile high. How I love them! How I need them! I'll have a long beard by the time I read them.” - Arnold Lobel

Reading with Analysis

Reading without reflecting is like eating without digesting - Edmund Burke

GreenFloss

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Soils Matter, Get the Scoop!

What's the dirt on soil? Find out here.

