Books Are My Thing – HAS MOVED!

Please visit www.booksaremything.com to continue following my blog!

Book Review: Allegiant by Veronica Roth

AllegiantRead the Goodreads summary here.

This is the third book of the Divergent trilogy.  If you would like to read my review of the first book, Divergent, or the second book, Insurgent, you may find them here and here, respectively.

So I finished this book in two days – working days, no less.  I just could NOT put it down!!

It starts out with a select few deciding to escape from fractionless rule and leave the city to find out what’s beyond the wall.  When they do, the reality of the worldly situation and the information they are given about their city is almost too much to handle.  Except that the original information they are given STILL doesn’t seem to be the whole truth, and when they find out what the real truth is, a series of even more rebellions occur.  The trilogy concludes with quite the ending that will leave you feeling emotionally raw.

I loved this book, and completely DISAGREE with the general consensus that this book wasn’t as good as the first two.  It just felt so REAL to me.  The political undercurrent and issues could EASILY be true, legitimate problems in our modern day or near-future world.  How often in our history has the “pure” vs “unpure” debate arisen?  Slavery, the Holocaust, women’s rights, gay rights, etc.  It seems the idea of all humans being equal or non-equal is an issue we may never overcome.  We are now in the scientific day and age where it is possible to selectively pick which genes you desire your baby to have.  Even now we are trying to isolate “the fat gene” or “the alcoholic gene”.  So the fact that this book calls to attention a war between the “genetically pure” and “genetically damaged” is not outlandish AT ALL.  It’s a definite true possibility of something that could occur.

I get it, the third book isn’t like the first two, and people wanted more of the first two.  But man, if you ask me, Roth really hit it out of the park with this last one.  She wrote about issues that got you thinking, even though she was writing a young adult, dystopian fiction novel.

And then there was the ending.  Guys, I cried for at least 20 minutes as I read the ending of this book.  I felt SO emotionally drained when I finished it that I just went to bed afterwards.  It’s been a while since a book has made me feel that raw.  But I loved every sentence of it; the emotions of the characters were almost palpable the way Roth described them.

5 out of 5

So many of you have already read this trilogy; do you agree or disagree with me about this last book?

Has a book ever left you feeling emotionally drained by the end?

14 responses to “Book Review: Allegiant by Veronica Roth

  1. Pingback: Monthly Round-up: April 2014 - Books Are My Thing

  2. ωσя∂ѕωєнєαят July 31, 2014 at 3:49 pm

    I’m glad you loved it but I personally was disappointed with it so I have to disagree but nice review (:

    Like

  3. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday {13}: Best Books I’ve Read So Far This Year | Books Are My Thing

  4. Pingback: Book Review: Unhinged by A.G. Howard | Books Are My Thing

  5. Pingback: April Book Round-up | Books Are My Thing

  6. Melinda April 11, 2014 at 9:22 am

    Soon enough I will start with this series, when I eventually finish The Hunger Games 🙂

    Like

  7. Janet April 10, 2014 at 12:13 pm

    The book sucked. Veronica Roth clearly never read a science book in her life and has no idea how genetics works, particularly in populations, so the entire foundation of that totally-pulled-out-of-her-ass-at-the-last-minute explanation is baseless and ridiculous. (If you want to get rid of this undesirable genetic flaw, why would you lock all the people up together so they interbreed for 200 years and make it worse before the “correction” magically starts to manifest in their descendants? Unrealistic waste of time much?) Plus it makes no damn sense and blasts city-sized plot holes in the existing story and makes everything completely pointless and even more illogical than it already was. (Why do people have to have their memories wiped and live in a fake world just for the sake of killing time until their descendants inherit their gene corrections? That’s just stupid.) It’s plainly obvious that Roth did not plan out her series, made up an explanation at the last minute and then tried to back the rest of the story into it to fit. Doesn’t work.
    As far as the ending goes, I have no problem with the fact of Tris dying in an act of true sacrifice – the moment, in and of itself, and by itself, makes complete sense. It makes sense taken ONLY as a moment, though. The entire story that led to it, however, was completely contrived and unbelievable. As I read, I could practically see the puppet strings hanging off all the characters as the author manipulated them to move and act against their will, making completely idiotic and out-of-character decisions to construct a totally unnecessary plan just for the obvious sake of inventing an excuse for Tris to find a reason to sacrifice herself. The circumstances of Tris’s death were so forced and staged that the whole event just can’t even be taken seriously.
    No amount of money on earth will ever convince me that an editor read this book before it went to the printer. It’s a damned mess.

    Like

  8. missbookreader09 April 10, 2014 at 11:51 am

    I loved Allegiant like you. The ending was bittersweet and beautiful. It’s definitely perhaps, the finest in the series, though the first will always be my personal favorite. Favorite dystopian series. Period.

    Like

  9. nomoney4books April 9, 2014 at 11:30 am

    I’m so glad to hear a positive review for this last book on the series. I kind of gave up after Divergent and didn’t finish the series yet and hadn’t decided if I would with all the negativity out there… This definitely makes me want to at least find out what happens.

    Like

I'd love to know what you think!

Books Are My Thing

Some women collect shoes, others collect purses. I collect books.

Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need Spoiler-Free Reviews In A Pinch

Eat well, Live well

“Let food be your medicine and your medicine be your food” – Hippocrates

teach from the heart

musings of a teacher, parent, and life-long learner

Mile High Reading

“Books to the ceiling, Books to the sky, My pile of books is a mile high. How I love them! How I need them! I'll have a long beard by the time I read them.” - Arnold Lobel

Reading with Analysis

Reading without reflecting is like eating without digesting - Edmund Burke

GreenFloss

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Soils Matter, Get the Scoop!

What's the dirt on soil? Find out here.

