Books Are My Thing – HAS MOVED!

Please visit www.booksaremything.com to continue following my blog!

Top Ten Tuesday {7}: “Gateway” Books/Authors in My Reading Journey

TTT2As always, this weekly book blog meme is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

 

This week’s TTT is books and/or authors that were akin to a gateway drug for my reading.  I had a hard time coming up with 10, as I wanted them to be books that really had an impact on me, so you’re getting 6.  Enjoy!

 

Six “Gateway” Books and Authors

Gateway Books

 

  1. The Nancy Drew series by Carolyn Keene.  This is the first series I distinctly remember getting hooked on when I was young.  I loved the stories, and getting sucked into the series was about the time books became a usual birthday/Christmas present for me.  I still have my collection, I think it’s roughly 25-30 books out of the 64 in the original series (or 56, depending who you ask).  I hope I have a daughter to share them with some day, and perhaps grow the collection.

 

  1. Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling.   HP always seems to make my lists, but it was SUCH a crucial series in my life.  I wasn’t introduced to Harry until after Goblet of Fire came out, but I quickly gobbled up all four of the first books and eagerly awaited the rest.  I always thought I preferred mystery novels until I found the world of fantasy through J.K. Rowling.

 

  1. Lord of the Rings by J.R. Tolkien.  I picked up LOTR when the first movie came out, in 2001.  I was roughly about 13 years old, which is pretty young to be tackling the tome of reading all 3 books combined into one (it’s over 1,000 pages, in case you were wondering).  I read it all in about a month, which I consider pretty incredible for a 13 year old who also had other books to read for school.  LOTR is what set into motion my love of fantasy.

 

  1. The Black Jewels Trilogy by Anne Bishop. These were probably my first “adult” books, read in high school.  I loved the world in which the books were set, and the material was intense.  I remember having this incredibly naughty feeling any time I was reading them around other people, especially at school, even though I knew none of them actually knew what I was reading.

 

  1.  Cell by Stephen King.  I’ve mentioned before that I grew up with a mother who loved Stephen King, and I have even managed to inherit her older SK books that she no longer wanted.  However, it was The Cell that introduced me to current Stephen King fiction.  I feel like there’s a definite divide between his early days and his present work, and I’ve always preferred his newer books.  The Cell was the catalyst for that.

 

  1. Some unknown title about a woman falling in love with a Native American (The Shadow Bear plot sounded vaguely familiar) – I know, I know, if I can’t even remember the title or the author, how could this book have been a “gateway” for me?  Well, it introduced me to the world of romance novels.  I don’t read them very much (in fact I’m not sure if 50 Shades of Grey even falls under romance or erotica or what? [Google says “erotic romance”]).  Every once in a while though, I could use some steamy scenes in my life, and this book introduced me to that world.

 

What books or authors made an impact on your reading?

As always, if you’re visiting from The Broke and the Bookish, please post your TTT link so that I can visit you!

14 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday {7}: “Gateway” Books/Authors in My Reading Journey

  1. Pingback: April Book Round-up | Books Are My Thing

  2. Cassie April 2, 2014 at 8:13 am

    Nancy Drew! I loved that series as well. Does anyone remember the Nancy Drew/ Hardy Boys Super Mysteries? Those were my absolute favorites!

    Like

  3. nomoney4books April 1, 2014 at 7:51 pm

    Absolutely loved Nancy Drew and Harry Potter as well – I will probably force any future children of mine to read them whether they are willing or not. Lucky them 🙂

    Like

  4. anotherafterthought April 1, 2014 at 5:11 pm

    Great honest list! I remember Nancy Drew being one of the rad things to read in elementary school but I actually never got around to them.

    Cheers,
    joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts

    Like

  5. Caitie F April 1, 2014 at 2:10 pm

    This is a great list! The Nancy Drew series got me hooked on mysteries. Stephen King is one of my favorite authors ever. I wouldn’t want to see in his mind because his books are so creepy, but his creativity is amazing

    Like

  6. Turn the Page Reviews April 1, 2014 at 1:46 pm

    Great list! I just started reading King-I will have to look for The Cell.

    Like

  7. Julie S. April 1, 2014 at 1:03 pm

    Ooh I like that you have the Nancy Drew series on there 🙂 I read those a lot as a kid too.

    Like

  8. Priya April 1, 2014 at 12:17 pm

    Even I loved the Nancy Drew series; but I had to give the books away when I became “too old for them” – like there is such a thing! Harry Potter made it to my list too, mostly because it was the first book I became completely obsessed with. And I loved that feeling! I’m surprised you mentioned Cell, because though I also like his newer books, I wouldn’t have chosen that one (I’d have gone for 11.22.63!) but that’s just me. Great list!

    Like

    • Bookjunkiekrystal April 1, 2014 at 12:22 pm

      Well, Cell was really the first of his newer books that I read, which is why I chose that one. Also, I haven’t read 11/22/63 yet!!! It’s on my TBR list… maybe after Doctor Sleep, though I’m really interested in Mr. Mercedes that’s coming out soon too…..

      Like

I'd love to know what you think!

Books Are My Thing

Some women collect shoes, others collect purses. I collect books.

Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need Spoiler-Free Reviews In A Pinch

Eat well, Live well

“Let food be your medicine and your medicine be your food” – Hippocrates

teach from the heart

musings of a teacher, parent, and life-long learner

Mile High Reading

“Books to the ceiling, Books to the sky, My pile of books is a mile high. How I love them! How I need them! I'll have a long beard by the time I read them.” - Arnold Lobel

Reading with Analysis

Reading without reflecting is like eating without digesting - Edmund Burke

GreenFloss

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Soils Matter, Get the Scoop!

What's the dirt on soil? Find out here.

