Books Are My Thing – HAS MOVED!

Please visit www.booksaremything.com to continue following my blog!

Book Review: Insurgent by Veronica Roth

Insurgent (Divergent, #2)
Read the Goodreads summary here.

This is the second book of the Divergent trilogy.  If you would like to read my review of the first book, Divergent, you may find it here.  If you haven’t read Divergent yet, you may want to skip this review, as there will probably be some spoilers.

So I finished Divergent one late evening, and then immediately jumped into this one the next day.  I just had to know what was going to happen next, now that the sh*t had hit the fan between Erudite, Dauntless and Abnegation.

Honestly, this was probably my least favorite book of the trilogy.  Tris spends a LOT of the book feeling guilty and full of grief.  There are only so many times one can read about her inability to hold a gun in her hand before you just sort of want to yell at the book, “I GET IT, she’s upset about killing her friend!!”  In fact, I actually felt this reoccurring theme somewhat overshadowed the fact that she had also lost both of her parents.  It wasn’t as easy to relate to Tris in this book, probably because more people could have related to the loss of parents than they can of killing a friend.  Still, I can understand that Roth was trying to demonstrate that she was no longer a child, and that she now had to deal with the true consequences of choosing Dauntless.

With so many characters coming in from various factions, I had a hard time at certain parts following who was who in the book.  I’m probably the only one, but names don’t always stick with me very well.  (I know, I should probably give up my goal of reading  ASOIAF someday right?  lol)

It also kind of irritated me that Tris kept sacrificing herself.  Divergent portrayed her as this coming-out-of-her-shell girl, who finally decides it’s okay to be selfish and make the choice that’s best for her.  But Insurgent makes her sound like she’s lost all her Dauntless qualities and reverted back to Abnegation.

Still, even being my least favorite out of the three, it was a good book.  Tris and Four’s relationship continued to grow, and yet it felt very human as they tried to sabotage the good thing they had.  Also, while I had some inkling early on that the factionless might play a role, I never realized how important they’d become.

It’s a common trend among trilogies to end the second book at a cliffhanger.  I guess authors figure if they’ve roped you into reading the second book, then they’ve got you and it’s okay to leave you hanging in agony.  Yeah, Roth doesn’t stray from this trend AT ALL. Thank goodness I waited to read this series until all of the books were out, because I would have been FURIOUS if I had to wait.  It was bad enough that I finished the book while out of town and hadn’t had the forethought to bring the third book with me.

4 out of 5

 

What is your opinion about cliffhangers in series?  Do you enjoy them, or do you prefer when the author wraps the book up and allows it to be read as a standalone?

5 responses to “Book Review: Insurgent by Veronica Roth

  1. Pingback: Allegiant by Veronica Roth - Books Are My Thing

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday {13}: Best Books I’ve Read So Far This Year | Books Are My Thing

  3. Pingback: Book Review: Unhinged by A.G. Howard | Books Are My Thing

  4. Pingback: Book Review: Allegiant by Veronica Roth | Books Are My Thing

  5. Pingback: March Book Round-up | Books Are My Thing

I'd love to know what you think!

Books Are My Thing

Some women collect shoes, others collect purses. I collect books.

Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need Spoiler-Free Reviews In A Pinch

Eat well, Live well

“Let food be your medicine and your medicine be your food” – Hippocrates

teach from the heart

musings of a teacher, parent, and life-long learner

Mile High Reading

“Books to the ceiling, Books to the sky, My pile of books is a mile high. How I love them! How I need them! I'll have a long beard by the time I read them.” - Arnold Lobel

Reading with Analysis

Reading without reflecting is like eating without digesting - Edmund Burke

GreenFloss

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Soils Matter, Get the Scoop!

What's the dirt on soil? Find out here.

