Books Are My Thing – HAS MOVED!

Please visit www.booksaremything.com to continue following my blog!

Top Ten Tuesday {6}: Things On My Bookish Bucket List

As always, this weekly book blog meme is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s TTT is 10 things on my bookish bucket list.  Before starting this blog I never really had any book “goals,” or at least none that I had actually thought about.  That’s quickly changed though, so here is my list, in no particular order.

10 Things on my Bookish Bucket List

  1. Meet Stephen King.  I don’t think this requires any explanation.
  2. Read 50 books in 2014.  This probably seems like a low number to a lot of people, but I’ve never actually calculated the number of books I read in a year, so I decided to aim low.  That’s about 4-5 books per month.  I’ve knocked out eleven so far, but I’ve also got 5 ongoing, so I think I’m easily on track.
  3. Keep my blog going.  I want to continue expanding my blog.  I got so excited the other week when I went over 50 followers, haha!  (Thank you all, by the way).  It’s been a lot of fun these last 3 months, and I hope to keep up with it.
  4. Learn more about blogging.  I’m still so new to all of this.  There’s a LOT I don’t understand about blogs, websites, etc etc.  Design is probably my biggest hurdle at the moment.  I have no idea how people create the images for their memes, or get all of their book cover images to line up so nicely.  Is this something most people know how to do???  And, at what point is it proper to start actually paying for your blog instead of going the free route?  And how do you go about any of that?  I’m obviously still far from that point, but I think it’s always good to look ahead and learn as early as you can.  All help/tips/advice appreciated by the way!
  5. Earn at least the Silver Badge in Read. Sleep. Repeat’s Book Series ChallengeI finished the Divergent trilogy last week (reviews coming in the near future).  I also have Unhinged calling my name from the bookshelf, which will complete the Splintered series since the 3rd book, Ensnared, won’t be out until 2015 (though I feel kinda guilty counting a series that only has two books).  I can EASILY read two more trilogies/series before December.
  6. Knock out some of the books on my TBR shelf.  I particularly want to clear out the ones I’ve had for over a year, as mentioned in this earlier post.  I can see this being a difficult, but necessary, endeavor for me; many of the books are ones that came out at least several years ago, but now that I’m blogging I want to talk about new/more recent books!  However, it’s really important to me that I don’t let my unread books overwhelm me, so I’m going to stick with it.
  7. Join a book club – I’ve never been a part of one!  I think it would be really fun to get together with a group of people each month and discuss books.
  8. Attend a book and/or blogging conference  – I still don’t know a ton about these conferences, as my career is in such a different field, but I think it would be a lot of fun and rewarding to go to one.  It’s kind of my version of the go-to-ComiCon dream many have. 🙂
  9. Design/create my own personal library – I’ve said this a million times, but at some point in my life I want my own library in my house – complete with built in bookcases, cozy overstuffed chairs, moody lighting, and possibly a fireplace.
  10. Spark someone else to fall in love with reading – I can proudly say that I know of at least two people with whom I have already done this.  People who swore they didn’t like to read.  But why on earth would I stop with just two??  The more people I can get to enjoy reading, the better the world will be, in my opinion.

What are some of of the items on your bookish bucket list?

As always, if you’re visiting from The Broke and the Bookish, please post your TTT link so that I can visit you!

14 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday {6}: Things On My Bookish Bucket List

  1. Dan R Morris March 29, 2014 at 3:38 am

    We’d be glad to have you at any of our Blogging Concentrated events nationwide. We’d even make a special effort to really emphasize book blogging that day.

    Like

  2. Pamela D March 25, 2014 at 9:07 pm

    I would love my own library with a reading nook too. 🙂

    Like

  3. Rebecca Scaglione - Love at First Book March 25, 2014 at 7:03 pm

    Oh my gosh, so I JUST posted about how I met Stephen King a few years ago!!! I soooo hope you get to do the same thing, too!!!

    I love how this is a Top 10 Tuesday! You may also want to link up to the original Bookish Bucket List, too!

    Like

  4. Turn the Page Reviews March 25, 2014 at 5:08 pm

    Great goals! I wish I had my own library too.

    Like

  5. anotherafterthought March 25, 2014 at 4:37 pm

    I find that a lot of the stylizing/personalizing work is pretty much trial-and-error and toying around with things (especially true if you decide to go self-hosted and learn HTML/CSS/etc). I definitely agree with you on #10 where friends say they don’t read (or don’t know what to read) but once given the ideal gateway book — they have a slight change of heart!

    Cheers,
    joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts

    Like

  6. Pingback: Top Ten Things On My Bookish Bucket List | Brin's Book Blog

  7. nomoney4books March 25, 2014 at 11:15 am

    These are such great goals! I had to smile because I also set my reading goal at 52 for this year, clueless to how many books I actually read, and just upped it since I will definitely pass that number this year! 🙂 And I’m very impressed you got two nonreaders to like reading – I have a friend who is the same way and I’m slowly but surely trying to convert her. Also, this might not be the best option out there, but I make all my images for my blog in drawings on Google Drive. Simple, free, and it works for me!

    Like

    • bookjunkiekrystal March 25, 2014 at 4:22 pm

      Yeah, I definitely think I can pass 50, but I also have a lot going on in my life at the moment, so I’m sticking with my original goal. 🙂 Better yet, they were both MEN!! I’m convinced you just have to find the right genre for them, and they’ll become readers for life. I’ll have to check out doing drawings on Google Drive, thanks!

      Like

  8. Caitie F March 25, 2014 at 10:37 am

    This is a great list. Meeting Stephen King would be amazing. He is a genius. I need to read some of my own books too.

    Like

  9. Emily @ Oh Magic Hour March 25, 2014 at 9:29 am

    I just moved from wordpress to my own blog, and if you plan to move to different hosting (and not just pay wordpress to turn your blog into a .com) I actually am glad that I did it early in my blogging career, because I kind of had to rebuild my followers a bit! There were some people that followed automatically, but it was definitely a bit of time before I got back to where I had been if that makes sense? I also paid the girl who does my hosting to make a header and whatnot. It wasn’t that expensive at all (like $30 for design and then a monthly hosting cost). I’m happy to talk about it more if you want any other info!!

    Great list!

    Like

I'd love to know what you think!

Books Are My Thing

Some women collect shoes, others collect purses. I collect books.

Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need Spoiler-Free Reviews In A Pinch

Eat well, Live well

“Let food be your medicine and your medicine be your food” – Hippocrates

teach from the heart

musings of a teacher, parent, and life-long learner

Mile High Reading

“Books to the ceiling, Books to the sky, My pile of books is a mile high. How I love them! How I need them! I'll have a long beard by the time I read them.” - Arnold Lobel

Reading with Analysis

Reading without reflecting is like eating without digesting - Edmund Burke

GreenFloss

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Soils Matter, Get the Scoop!

What's the dirt on soil? Find out here.

