Books Are My Thing – HAS MOVED!

Please visit www.booksaremything.com to continue following my blog!

Top Ten Tuesday {5}: Books in my Spring 2014 TBR Pile

Hey everyone!  Sorry for the lack of blogging and blogosphere participation since last week, I was out of town for a long weekend – aka I got to enjoy ONE nice day of sunny 70 degree weather at the beach, and then ran a half marathon on the next, much more windy, day.

As always, this weekly book blog meme is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

Oh dear.

If you knew the state of my TBR (to be read) list, and the way I pick books to read, you’d understand why this list is a bit hard.

First of all, I have a TBR shelf at home of books I’ve already purchased.  There is no list of these, because I specifically have a designated shelf for them.  This shelf lets me know when my book buying vs book reading is starting to get out of control.

Then I have a wish list of books I’d like to either purchase or just read, not divided.  This list is a word document.  Numbered, in alphabetical order by title, nearing a rough estimate of 200.

I say the number like that because

    a) I have all books series listed as only ONE item
    b) I have tons of handwritten additions all over the pages.  I occasionally add these to the current document and print a new one, usually only when I run out of space to write on the pages by hand.

AND THEN there’s the fact that I often make my reading choices based solely on my mood at the time.

So yeah, this TTT is pretty darn hard to get a handle on, but here’s my attempt!

10 Books in my Spring 2014 TBR Pile

    1. April’s Book That is Lost or Forgotten – After struggling with it for the first 60-70 pages or so, I’m FINALLY getting into my March book, Out of the Blue by Isabell Wolff, which is one of the longest out of my Lost or Forgotten collection, so I’m hoping to finish or be near finishing it by the end of this month and choose a new one for April.
    2. May’s Book That is Lost or Forgotten – Again, keeping with my theme of one Lost or Forgotten book each month.
    3. June’s Book That is Lost or Forgotten – Am I cheating by listing it this way?  Perhaps, but these really are books on my TBR pile for the Spring!!
    4. Allegiant by Veronica Roth – I finished the second book this weekend, and I cannot WAIT to dive into this last one.  I read so many reviews of this series that I wasn’t sure what I was going to make of it, but so far I’m really, really glad I decided to wait before judging.
    5. Unhinged by A.G. Howard  – I sprinted through the first book of this series, Splintered (review coming your way this week!), and the only reason I haven’t read it yet is because I got the Divergent series for my birthday a few days later.
    6. Doctor Sleep by Stephen King – As I wrote in my The Shining review, I needed to get some distance from King before I went back to another of his books.  Despite the fact that it takes me a while to read his work, I really want to jump into this one soon.
    7. The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger – This is one of those on my wish list to read, but not necessarily own.  I’m really weird about “classics”.  Having bought a few of them in the past and then not liking them much (Lord of the Flies, Catch-22, and Wuthering Heights come to mind), I’m trying to refrain from buying any new ones that I don’t currently own.  A coworker of mine has mentioned several times that she is willing to loan this one out to me, and I really just need to take her up on the offer.
    8. Dark Lover,  #1 of the Black Dagger Brotherhood by J.R. Ward  – I’ve been reading a bunch of young adult fiction the last few weeks, and I find myself craving something a little more grown up.  This series was recommended to me a long time ago by an old friend whom I had introduced to the Black Jewels Trilogy years ago.  I have no idea if he’s actually read any of this series, or just heard of them, but he seemed to think I’d like them.
    9. Across the Universe by Beth Revis – I keep seeing older reviews for this book and new reviews for the later books in the series, which makes me really want to read this book and see what all the fuss is about (along with like 50 other books, but that’s besides the point, haha).
    10. Another ARC from NetGalley – While I do feel pressured by ARC’s, I think it’s kind of fun to introduce you all to books that will soon be coming out, so I’d like to do at least one more ARC this spring.  It will probably be another YA book, as these are the easiest for me to do a quick read of and still enjoy.

What are some of the books on your Spring To-Be-Read pile??  Are any of them the same as mine? 

Have you read any of my TBR books? 

If you’re visiting from The Broke and the Bookish, please post your TTT link so that I can visit you!

24 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday {5}: Books in my Spring 2014 TBR Pile

  1. Pingback: My Book Lists - Books Are My Thing

  2. Pingback: My Book Lists | Books Are My Thing

  3. imaginativeminds March 18, 2014 at 11:34 pm

    Although I love classics, I was not a fan of The Lord of the Flies or Catch-22! But The Catcher in the Rye. That book, I loved it. I didn’t know what to expect and that might be why I enjoyed it so much.

    Spending years only reading YA, I finally decided to get into Adult Fiction. The Dark Lover is a series that everyone on my Goodreads seems to have read and it was recommend to me. I read it, and loved it! I’m up to book #4! I hope you enjoy it as much as I did!!

    Patty @ImaginativeMinds

    Like

    • bookjunkiekrystal March 19, 2014 at 9:03 am

      Oh thank goodness someone else feels the same about those two books! I thought I was the only one, haha. I actually ordered both Across the Universe and Dark Lover yesterday, so I’m excited to dig in.

      Like

  4. wingedcreature March 18, 2014 at 9:21 pm

    Splintered is on my list as well, and I’m looking forward to reading it. I’ve read Across The Universe and really liked it, but I have yet to finish the rest of the series. I really liked Allegiant, but I think part of that is that I ignored reviews of it until I finished it because I wanted to form my own opinion about it. Happy reading!

    Like

  5. Pamela D March 18, 2014 at 9:13 pm

    I need to read Allegiant too.

    Like

  6. Michelle @ In Libris Veritas March 18, 2014 at 7:29 pm

    I love that you attempt to get to those dusty books that you’ve “forgotten”. I try to but I’m usually so busy with my review books and new releases that I kind of put them to the side. I hope you enjoy Allegiant, it’s definitely a polarizing book. I love Unhinged and I really need to try out a Stephen King book soon.

    Like

  7. La Coccinelle March 18, 2014 at 3:33 pm

    I’ve got Splintered on my list. I’m hoping I’ll enjoy it!

    Like

  8. anotherafterthought March 18, 2014 at 3:23 pm

    Good thing you can pick up Allegiant immediately! I remember I was reeling the Insurgent cliffhanger for months 😦 But I do hope that you enjoy Allegiant considering there’s no defined middle ground (in my opinion) for how people have felt about the overall book.

    Cheers,
    joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts

    Like

  9. myria101 March 18, 2014 at 11:39 am

    The last book of the Divergent series was such a slow read for me. I hope that you enjoy it though. It ended up being a good book once I got through it. As for the Black Dagger Brotherhood series, yeah you need to read it. I’m on the 8th one and I started reading them a month ago. The dialogue in them though grates my nerves sometimes, but you get through that because the stories are actually what draw you in.

    Like

    • bookjunkiekrystal March 18, 2014 at 11:47 am

      Thanks for the input! I finished Insurgent while I was away for the weekend, and was infuriated that I didn’t have the forethought to bring the third book. I felt like the second one ended on such a cliffhanger!

      Like

  10. Emily @ Oh Magic Hour March 18, 2014 at 11:19 am

    Oh and congrats on the half marathon!!

    Like

  11. Emily @ Oh Magic Hour March 18, 2014 at 11:19 am

    I need to read Allegiant, too. I just got scared off by all the mixed reviews for the series end, but just need to rip that band-aid and see how it ends for myself! If you like Black Jewels you might like Black Dagger Brotherhood, but one thing I don’t love about them is that they are all companion novels. Instead of following the same couple/storyline the whole way through, there’s a new one each time. Some people love it, some people don’t, but it’s generally not my absolute favorite thing. Especially following that great romance arc from Black Jewels!! Have you tried her Written in Red series?

    Like

    • bookjunkiekrystal March 18, 2014 at 11:26 am

      Yeah, so many people said they didn’t like Allegiant as much, but I’m trying hard to keep an open mind!! Interesting about BDB, I’ll have to keep that in mind. I totally agree about the romance throughout Black Jewels! I did look into the Written in Red series, but I think I’m just vampire-d out right now.

      Like

  12. Olena P March 18, 2014 at 10:51 am

    Allegiant is on my list as well 🙂 I know what you mean by the long TBR list. I have lists of books that I should be reading right now, the books I want to read and books that I need to have right now, but have to wait. There are just too many good books out there and not enough time to read them all.

    My TTT: http://www.bookythoughtsandme.com/top-ten-books-spring-tbr/

    Like

    • bookjunkiekrystal March 18, 2014 at 10:57 am

      True story! I almost didn’t do TTT today because the likelihood of me reading books I actually list is pretty slim, I’m always changing my mind. This is probably why, for the most part, I was very vague!

      Like

  13. Amy March 18, 2014 at 9:47 am

    Looks like you have some good reading coming your way this spring!

    Like

I'd love to know what you think!

Books Are My Thing

Some women collect shoes, others collect purses. I collect books.

Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need Spoiler-Free Reviews In A Pinch

Eat well, Live well

“Let food be your medicine and your medicine be your food” – Hippocrates

teach from the heart

musings of a teacher, parent, and life-long learner

Mile High Reading

“Books to the ceiling, Books to the sky, My pile of books is a mile high. How I love them! How I need them! I'll have a long beard by the time I read them.” - Arnold Lobel

Reading with Analysis

Reading without reflecting is like eating without digesting - Edmund Burke

GreenFloss

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Soils Matter, Get the Scoop!

What's the dirt on soil? Find out here.

