Books Are My Thing – HAS MOVED!

Please visit www.booksaremything.com to continue following my blog!

Top Ten Tuesday {4}: Favorites from the Fantasy Genre

This week’s top ten is 10 All Time Favorite Books in X Genre.  As always, this weekly book blog meme is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

I read books from various genres, but I always return to fantasy books.  There’s just something about exploring other worlds and “forgetting” the current one (for a little while) that sucks me in!  As I started working on my list, I noticed the trend that they all seemed to be trilogies or series, rather than singular books.  I think that’s often how it goes with the fantasy genre (and I’m not about to complain!), so I went with it.

10 All Time Favorite Books (Series) of the Fantasy Genre

  1. Harry Potter series – I mean really, how could it not be??
  2. The Hunger Games trilogy – Again, another obvious one.
  3. Dragonlance series, specifically the Dragonlance Chronicles trilogy – I read a lot of Dragonlance books in high school, but the Chronicles trilogy was the starting point.
  4. The Black Jewels Trilogy, and relating books – I read this trilogy so many times in high school that I lost count.  LOVE THEM.
  5. The House of Night series – I have a love/hate relationship with these books honestly.  I’m always wanting to jump to the next one and find out what happens next, but I also hate how the story tends to drag from one book to the next.  Yeah, that probably didn’t make any sense at all, did it?  Hence the love/hate relationship.  This series is finally wrapping up soon though!
  6. Ender’s Game – This might be considered more sci-fi than fantasy, but it’s also dystopian, which I consider fantasy, so it’s totally making the list.  I did read some of the follow-up books after this one, and they were okay, but not as good as Ender’s Game itself.
  7. Lord of the Rings trilogy – It was hard to get through this book at times (I stupidly bought the condensed 3 books-in-1 tome), but I really loved it and it’s just one of those classics, ya know?
  8. Twilight series – It’s okay, you’re totally allowed to yell at me for this one.  But honestly, I read the first three books in a few days and then waited eagerly for the fourth one to come out.  I saw every single movie in theaters, and I was totally one of those Team Edward (of the book)/Team Jacob (of the movie) people.  How can I not include this one?
  9. Septimus Heap – I’ve honestly only read the first two books of the series, but the rest are on my TBR list.  I just really enjoyed them, and honestly anything with magic tends to enamor me.
  10. Splintered – I JUST read this book, and thus hesitated putting it on my list, but seriously, I loved it.  It’s been a little while since I found a book that I flew through and couldn’t put down.  I’m looking forward to reading Unhinged and then (im)patiently waiting for the third of the trilogy to come out.

What are some of your favorite books of the fantasy genre? 

If you’re visiting from The Broke and the Bookish, please post your TTT link so that I can visit you!

22 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday {4}: Favorites from the Fantasy Genre

  1. Samantha (@SamanthasBooks) March 17, 2014 at 8:06 am

    Yes! I totally agree with Harry Potter, The Hunger Games & Splintered! I’m so glad you enjoyed Splintered and I’m pretty sure you’re going to love Unhinged 😀
    I keep meaning to get around to reading the Lord of the Rings books. I started the first one years ago but never finished it. I’ll get the read one day!
    Great list 😀

    Like

  2. Jeyna Grace March 11, 2014 at 10:14 pm

    Harry Potter.. most definitely!

    Like

  3. Megan March 11, 2014 at 7:37 pm

    I have Splinter at home right now. I absolutely must read it this time. No more bringing it back and forth between home and the library. I hear nothing but praise for it! I recently got sucked into the second Mara Dyer book. I don’t know what it is about those book…Thanks for sharing! ~Megan
    http://wp.me/pzUn5-1Uy

    Like

  4. Lisa March 11, 2014 at 6:13 pm

    I’m definitely a fantasy fan, and love Harry Potter (who doesn’t??). I love A Song of Ice and Fire as well, even though the wait for the next book is way too long. Great list!

    Like

  5. La Coccinelle March 11, 2014 at 3:17 pm

    I’ve got Splintered on my TBR list. I’m looking forward to it.

    Some of my favourite fantasy books are by Diana Wynne Jones. She really knows how to create a fantasy world.

    Like

    • bookjunkiekrystal March 11, 2014 at 3:20 pm

      I immediately went out and bought Splintered’s sequel, Unhinged, after I finished it. I haven’t started it yet though, because I got Divergent for my birthday this past weekend and now I’m gobbling up those books before I see the movie!! 🙂

      Like

  6. Katherine March 11, 2014 at 3:09 pm

    Great list! There’s a lot that I’ve read but several I haven’t that look interesting. I loved Enders Game and Hunger Games and have mixed feelings on the whole Twilight series.

    Like

    • bookjunkiekrystal March 11, 2014 at 3:17 pm

      I feel like Twilight is just one of those books that most people secretly love for some UNKNOWN reason but are often embarrassed to admit it. I mean, I think we can agree that the writing wasn’t the greatest, lol. The same could be said of 50 Shades of Grey though, and how many of us have loved those books as a guilty pleasure?? (Ironically, 50 Shades started out as fanfiction for Twilight.)

      Like

  7. The Passionate Bookworms March 11, 2014 at 3:03 pm

    I haven’t read many of these. But totally agree with the ones I have! The Twilight Series is my guilty pleasure. They are comfort reads for me. I start them and just kind of .. sink in. and the last one was awesome! was totally for Jacob the whole time though lol.. Hunger games and Harry potter are no brainers! Though.. I would kinda leave out #3 from hunger games :/ .. The house of night series is one I haven’t finished. I read through book 6 ish I think? I liked it.. but I just kinda gave up on it I guess :/ I’m going to be looking into The Black Jewels trilogy because the name just intrigues me lol.

    here is Our Top Ten Tuesday

    Like

    • bookjunkiekrystal March 11, 2014 at 3:10 pm

      I think Twilight is a LOT of readers’ guilty pleasure… just like 50 Shades of Grey, hahaha. Yes, Mockingjay was rough, so disheartening and depressing! But not all books can end with happy endings I guess. I truthfully haven’t read the last one or two books of HON, probably for similar reasons that you gave up on it, but since the series is ending I’ve moved them up my TBR list. I could swoon about Black Jewels all day, just be prepared – the storylines can be very harsh and wicked.

      Like

  8. Amy March 11, 2014 at 12:28 pm

    I so agree with your statement in the second paragraph. When I read I want to escape. Reality is real enough I want to go someplace that doesn’t resemble the world we live in everyday. I had a love/hate relationship with The House of Night series too. Can’t remember how far I made it but eventually gave up on them. May have to try again now that I know there is going to be an end. Great list.

    Like

  9. Emily @ Oh Magic Hour March 11, 2014 at 11:57 am

    Oh man – how good are the Black Jewels books. SO GOOD!! Love this list!

    Like

  10. kelley March 11, 2014 at 11:35 am

    I”ve always enjoyed reading fantasy, fun list today. kelley—the road goes ever ever on

    Like

  11. nomoney4books March 11, 2014 at 10:35 am

    I also chose fantasy for my TTT list genre this week! I loved Enders Game and the Hunger Games series too! Great list, I will definitely be checking out a few of these series I’m not familiar with!

    Like

I'd love to know what you think!

Books Are My Thing

Some women collect shoes, others collect purses. I collect books.

Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need Spoiler-Free Reviews In A Pinch

Eat well, Live well

“Let food be your medicine and your medicine be your food” – Hippocrates

teach from the heart

musings of a teacher, parent, and life-long learner

Mile High Reading

“Books to the ceiling, Books to the sky, My pile of books is a mile high. How I love them! How I need them! I'll have a long beard by the time I read them.” - Arnold Lobel

Reading with Analysis

Reading without reflecting is like eating without digesting - Edmund Burke

GreenFloss

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Soils Matter, Get the Scoop!

What's the dirt on soil? Find out here.

