Books Are My Thing – HAS MOVED!

Please visit www.booksaremything.com to continue following my blog!

Book Review: The Shining

I decided to link up to Wensend and Fourth Street Review‘s March event, King’s March.  Check it out for other Stephen King reviews!

 

As I have said before, I am a self-proclaimed Stephen King fan.  While I tend to prefer his newer works, The Shining is just one of those classics you can’t not read at some point.

wpid-IMG_20140219_220034.jpg

I am lucky enough to have inherited some of my mom’s books that she no longer cared to keep (not all pictured here).  There used to be more of these sweet older Stephen King hardbacks (I specifically remember trying to read Pet Semetary once – I couldn’t get past all the descriptive detail at the time), but I think they may have gotten lost when we moved 9 years ago (or sold at a yard sale unbeknownst to me, like so many of my own books were).  My version of this book is from 1977, when King had written only Carrie and ‘Salem’s Lot so far.  Very cool if you ask me!

I decided to reread The Shining because I recently bought its sequel, Doctor Sleep, one of King’s newest releases, during a day-after-Christmas sale at the local bookstore chain.  A coworker is currently listening to it on audio, and he has told me that while it’s a totally different story, it does reference back to events in The Shining from time to time, and he’ll probably go back and listen to The Shining once he finishes Doctor Sleep.  This tells me I made a good decision in rereading it first.

I struggle with enjoying King’s older books, and in fact I haven’t even read all the ones my mom gave me, but the first time I read The Shining, years ago, I loved it.  That didn’t change at all this time around, though I definitely have a lot more perspective about the story events than I did in early high school.

Let’s be honest, most people know at least the general storyline of the book thanks to Stanley Kubrick’s movie adaptation that is still considered one of the best horror flicks of all time.  Granted, Kubrick didn’t follow the book as closely as he could have, but isn’t that almost always the case?  So I didn’t really think it necessary to post a book summary this time around.  If you’re living under a rock somewhere (or perhaps outside the US) and have never heard of The Shining, then a quick Google search should bring you up to speed.

King does a great job at really putting you inside the heads of the characters with this book.  Because of that, you get a sense of how the hotel is changing them, and how terrifying the events really are.  Not to mention that he captures the thought patterns of the child, Danny, incredibly well.  When you first think of someone reading minds (aka the “shining”), you immediately assume that the person doing so will know and understand all the thoughts/emotions he’s sensing.  But kids don’t know what words like “Divorce” mean, nor totally understand complex adult emotions like what John feels when he’s arguing back and forth with himself.

Some of the scenes are still just as scary and creepy reading them again, like the moving hedges, the Room 217 visits, and when John gets drunk in the ballroom, partying with the dead.  King does such a great job painting a picture of these events in your head that, even if you haven’t seen the movie, you can easily imagine what’s happening.

I really encourage everyone to read this book at some point in your life.  Call me bias, but I truly feel it is an iconic piece of American literature.  Also, check out the Background section of The Shining on Wikipedia to learn how Stephen King became inspired to write this book.  I love hearing how authors come up with ideas and create stories, especially King.

Despite the fact that I reread The Shining in order to read Doctor Sleep, I have been throwing a few other “lighter” books into the mix first.  Really, as much as I love his work, I can only handle so much King at a time.  But I greatly look forward to picking up Doctor Sleep when I’m ready.

What do you think of The Shining?
Have you read Doctor Sleep yet?
If so, what did you think of it?
Do you ever feel the need to swap between various genres with your reading?

12 responses to “Book Review: The Shining

  1. Pingback: Monthly Round-up: March 2014 - Books Are My Thing

  2. Pingback: March Book Round-up | Books Are My Thing

  3. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday {5}: Books in my Spring 2014 TBR Pile | Books Are My Thing

  4. Pingback: King’s March Link-Up #2 | Wensend

  5. Wendy @ Wensend March 15, 2014 at 6:04 am

    Awesome you’re joining in King’s March! I’m linking up your review today. 🙂 The goal of the event is to share as much King related things as possible. Would you care to put the link to the event in the blogpost, so other people know of the event as well?

    Like

  6. Pamela D March 13, 2014 at 9:17 pm

    I picked up Doctor Sleep at Goodwill a few weeks ago (it was $2!), but I have been putting it off, because I still need to read The Shining. I’m happy to hear that you continue to enjoy this book, and feel it is a classic. I will have to read it soon.

    Like

  7. Priya March 13, 2014 at 7:37 am

    The Shining was my intro to King and all things horror, so it will always be my favourite book by him. I read Doctor Sleep last year and it is so different from The Shining; but great, a little more polished maybe. Even I re-read The Shining before reading it, and that helps!
    I do want to read all of Stephen King, but even I need something lighter in between. There’s only so much horror I can take at one go!

    Like

    • bookjunkiekrystal March 13, 2014 at 7:40 am

      My coworker has finished the audiobook and said it was great, but it’s always good to hear another person say the same thing. I’ve been delving into some easy-reading YA/NA fantasy type stuff – great way to take a break until I’m ready for King again. 🙂 Thanks for swinging by my blog!

      Like

  8. BiblioJesso March 10, 2014 at 8:40 pm

    Glad to see you got around to re-reading The Shining. Good review too!

    Like

I'd love to know what you think!

Books Are My Thing

Some women collect shoes, others collect purses. I collect books.

Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need Spoiler-Free Reviews In A Pinch

Eat well, Live well

“Let food be your medicine and your medicine be your food” – Hippocrates

teach from the heart

musings of a teacher, parent, and life-long learner

Mile High Reading

“Books to the ceiling, Books to the sky, My pile of books is a mile high. How I love them! How I need them! I'll have a long beard by the time I read them.” - Arnold Lobel

Reading with Analysis

Reading without reflecting is like eating without digesting - Edmund Burke

GreenFloss

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Soils Matter, Get the Scoop!

What's the dirt on soil? Find out here.

