Books Are My Thing – HAS MOVED!

Please visit www.booksaremything.com to continue following my blog!

The Books That Get Lost or Forgotten

LOFB

We all have them.

At least, those of us who are avid readers anyway.

You know, the books we buy that end up just sitting on a shelf, unread.

Some of these books are books you just HAD TO HAVE at some point.  Some of them may be books that were given to you.  Others perhaps are books you thought sounded interesting at a mass used book sale, and they helped fill up your “bag of books”.

No matter how you first acquired them, they’ve been sitting on your shelf since, “collecting dust” as we might say.

I too, have lost and/or forgotten books.  Knowing that I may not want to keep some of these books once I read them, and thus can trade them in for store credit at various small business bookstores, I have decided to make it my mission to read one of these books each month.

 

So how did I decide which books I was going to tackle?  Well, I pulled out all of the books that I have owned for more than a year.  Then I turned to Fiance and said, “Pick one.”

He would, of course, pick the largest of them all for me to tackle during my first month doing this.  Perhaps, however, that’s the best way to start – it’ll be all downhill from here, right?

Out of the Blue

I hereby challenge YOU to pick a lost or forgotten book from your shelves and set out to read it this month.  Leave a comment telling me what book you chose, and how you chose it!!

20 responses to “The Books That Get Lost or Forgotten

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday {6}: Things On My Bookish Bucket List - Books Are My Thing

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday {5}: Books in my Spring 2014 TBR Pile - Books Are My Thing

  3. Pingback: Out of the Blue by Isabel Wolff - Books Are My Thing

  4. Pingback: The Fault in Our Stars by John Green - Books Are My Thing

  5. Pingback: Lost or Forgotten Books {2}: April - Books Are My Thing

  6. Pingback: Rosebush by Michele Jaffe - Books Are My Thing

  7. Pingback: Dragon's Keep by Janet Lee Carey - Books Are My Thing

  8. Pingback: Book Review: Dragon’s Keep by Janet Lee Carey | Books Are My Thing

  9. Pingback: Book Review: Rosebush by Michele Jaffe | Books Are My Thing

  10. Pingback: Book Review: The Fault in Our Stars by John Green | Books Are My Thing

  11. Pingback: Book Review: Out of the Blue by Isabel Wolff | Books Are My Thing

  12. Pingback: Lost or Forgotten Books {2}: April | Books Are My Thing

  13. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday {6}: Things On My Bookish Bucket List | Books Are My Thing

  14. Pingback: My Book Lists | Books Are My Thing

  15. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday {5}: Books in my Spring 2014 TBR Pile | Books Are My Thing

  16. Pat March 11, 2014 at 8:40 pm

    Remember that time I randomly selected a book for you, and you told me “not that one, that one will be for the beach. Pick another?”

    Like

  17. Pamela D March 8, 2014 at 12:48 pm

    After I get through the next month of so, I think I am going to start randomly pick a book from my TBR pile. I love the idea of reading a random and forgotten book.

    Like

    • bookjunkiekrystal March 8, 2014 at 1:02 pm

      Definitely! We all have a pile of them, I think it’s worth trying to work through them a bit. I have one (long) shelf designated to books I haven’t read yet, and I sort of promised the fiance I wouldn’t push it much past that. Hence my decision to start this 🙂

      Like

  18. Jeff March 5, 2014 at 5:29 pm

    Ugh….mine is a five volume Folio Society on lost civilizations. Can I take just one volume? 🙂

    Like

I'd love to know what you think!

Books Are My Thing

Some women collect shoes, others collect purses. I collect books.

Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need Spoiler-Free Reviews In A Pinch

Eat well, Live well

“Let food be your medicine and your medicine be your food” – Hippocrates

teach from the heart

musings of a teacher, parent, and life-long learner

Mile High Reading

“Books to the ceiling, Books to the sky, My pile of books is a mile high. How I love them! How I need them! I'll have a long beard by the time I read them.” - Arnold Lobel

Reading with Analysis

Reading without reflecting is like eating without digesting - Edmund Burke

GreenFloss

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Soils Matter, Get the Scoop!

What's the dirt on soil? Find out here.

