Books Are My Thing – HAS MOVED!

Please visit www.booksaremything.com to continue following my blog!

Top Ten Tuesday {3}: Authors I Haven’t Read

This week’s top ten is 10 Popular Authors I’ve Never Read.  As always, this weekly book blog meme is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

There are many super popular authors I’ve never even considered picking up.  There are plenty of reasons for this: I tend to lean towards sci-fi and fantasy books; I’m really not much of a fan of romance and/or chick lit; mystery/thrillers are pretty hit or miss for me, I’ll read them but I don’t often pick them up on my own; several are authors of books I would like to read but haven’t gotten to yet.

10 Popular Authors I’ve Never Read

  1. James Patterson – The irony to this is that the fiance LOVES his Alex Cross series and owns all of them.
  2. Nora Roberts – It’s pretty safe to say that the only romance books I’ve ever gravitated towards were Nicholas Sparks, and probably only because I LOVE The Notebook.
  3. David Sedaris – I know a lot of people like his stuff, and I do have Me Talk Pretty One Day on my TBR list, but who knows when I’ll get to it.
  4. John Grisham – I always see his books when I go to large used book sales, but his sub-genre of legal thrillers just doesn’t (pun intended) thrill me.
  5. Agatha Christie – I do, however, have one of her books on my TBR bookshelf, And Then There Were None.  This is probably due to that Doctor Who episode though.
  6. Cassandra Clare – Okay, so The Mortal Instruments series is TOTALLY on my wish list, I just haven’t gotten there yet.
  7. Dean Koontz – Another mystery/thriller author, and now that I just Googled him, I am somewhat ashamed to say I haven’t read him, because he’s from my home state of PA (the things you learn each day).
  8. John Green – This is another that, like Cassandra Clare, I actually have on my wish list (The Fault in Our Stars), I just haven’t gotten the book yet (Soon… very soon…).
  9. Ernest Hemingway – I’m very hit or miss with classic American literature.  I do have The Old Man and the Sea on my TBR-someday list, but it’s not one that I’m dying to get to.
  10. Ayn Rand – I feel like her works are the epitome of “sophisticated” adult reading.  I’ve never even considered picking one up.

What about you, what popular authors have you never read?  Do you think I need to reconsider reading some of the authors I’ve listed?

12 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday {3}: Authors I Haven’t Read

  1. Jamie (Jay) March 10, 2014 at 12:34 am

    Dean Koontz is one of my favorite authors Leaning toward sci-fi, start with Lightning is my advice. It’s mild sci-fi but it is there. Cassandra Clare is one I have been enjoying so far (only read 2 of her books to date). John Green is on my list as well. Here’s my TTT .

    Like

  2. Cate T. March 6, 2014 at 1:09 pm

    We have similar lists! Except, I really don’t like Nicholas Sparks lol. But that’s okay; to each her own, yeah? 🙂

    Ayn Rand is definitely on the uppity side. I wouldn’t even look her way if not for a Lit class I took in college. But she’s really good once you get into her style.

    Like

  3. Pamela D March 4, 2014 at 11:20 pm

    Sedaris’ early books are so hilarious. His most recent stuff feels a bit mean-spirited.

    Like

  4. Sandy @ Somewhere Only We Know March 4, 2014 at 6:56 pm

    John Green and Cassandra Clare are definitely ones I think you’ll enjoy when you’re able to get them read. And other than James Patterson I’ve never read any of the others on your list either. And I’m not sure James Patterson counts because my sister forced one of his audiobooks on me. Great list!
    TTT
    Sandy @ Somewhere Only We Know

    Like

  5. nomoney4books March 4, 2014 at 2:20 pm

    And Then There Were None is one of my favorite books! It’s definitely a must read I think – one of those you read in one sitting because it’s so intense. I also enjoyed The Fault in Our Stars even though I’m not usually a big fan of emotional, sad books, because it was very well done. Thanks for stopping by my blog!

    Like

    • bookjunkiekrystal March 4, 2014 at 2:56 pm

      Thanks for the suggestion! I’ve got a new goal of knocking out at least one book a month that has been lingering on my shelves a little too long… (I already chose March’s, but perhaps this will be April’s!

      Like

  6. jdh5153 March 4, 2014 at 12:00 pm

    I loved the first Atlas Shrugged movie (the second was alright) and I started reading the book after seeing it but never got very far. Maybe a hundred pages in. It was enjoyable, but I just haven’t been able to sit still and read as much as I did in college.

    -jonathan, avideogamelife.com

    Like

    • bookjunkiekrystal March 4, 2014 at 12:05 pm

      I will probably try to read Atlas Shrugged at some point in my life, but I figure it’s going to be one of those books that I read a chapter at a time. Thanks for the comment!

      Like

      • Sword of Apollo March 4, 2014 at 9:05 pm

        I’ve read Atlas Shrugged from beginning to end twice (though I have read parts of it more than that over the years.) I highly recommend it. Often, when I’d start reading a part of it, I’d get swept up and would have a hard time putting it down.

        My blog is dedicated to the philosophy behind Ayn Rand’s novels, if you’re interested. But reading Atlas Shrugged and The Fountainhead is a pretty good introduction to what Rand’s philosophy is about.

        Like

I'd love to know what you think!

Books Are My Thing

Some women collect shoes, others collect purses. I collect books.

Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need Spoiler-Free Reviews In A Pinch

Eat well, Live well

“Let food be your medicine and your medicine be your food” – Hippocrates

teach from the heart

musings of a teacher, parent, and life-long learner

Mile High Reading

“Books to the ceiling, Books to the sky, My pile of books is a mile high. How I love them! How I need them! I'll have a long beard by the time I read them.” - Arnold Lobel

Reading with Analysis

Reading without reflecting is like eating without digesting - Edmund Burke

GreenFloss

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Soils Matter, Get the Scoop!

What's the dirt on soil? Find out here.

