Books Are My Thing – HAS MOVED!

Please visit www.booksaremything.com to continue following my blog!

Top Ten Tuesday {2}: Favorite Books (age 10-18)

The Top Ten Tuesday list for this week from The Broke and the Bookish is a rewind, meaning I could pick from any of the topics they’ve done in past.  I pondered several, but ultimately chose the Top Ten All-time Favorite Books.  Please know these are NOT in any kind of order, to do so would be nearly impossible for me.  Also, these are all books that have been on my shelves for a while.  I could easily add favorite books I’ve read in recent years, like The Hunger Games, but I think it says something to go back and look at books I read during my middle and high school years and still love.

Top Ten All-time Favorite Books

(from age 10-18)

  1. The Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling. Okay, so maybe this is a cheat, but really, I LOVED these books.  I was first introduced to them in middle school, shortly after Goblet of Fire came out.  I was actually totally uninterested in them, until a friend bet me to read the first one.  Of course I was immediately hooked, and as the rest of them came out I read them all within a day or two.  As in, I put my life on hold until they were finished.  If I really had to choose, I’d say that Order of the Phoenix was probably my favorite.
  2. The Island of the Blue Dolphins by Scott O’Dell. I have no idea how many times I’ve read this book, but I know that it is one of the most worn books on my shelves.  I just fell in love with the female lead who seems weak and helpless at first, but manages to make it on her own and turns into this strong, independent woman.  What a great read for a young girl.
  3. The Scent of Magic by Andre Norton.  I wish I could remember where/when I picked this book up.  I know it was a completely random find; I think I was perusing fantasy bookshelves looking for something interesting because I was in a book lull.  In any case, this is another book I have read a multitude of times, and just love.  I always wished there was a series or sequel to go with it, because I loved it so much.  In writing this post, I decided to look it up on Goodreads (see sidebar for current reading list) and add it to my Read shelf.  Turns out this book IS a part of a series, the Five Senses series, which I never knew until now.  I’ll have to do some investigating on the other books, but it sounds like each one is a different story, so alas, I still will never get to read more about Willadene.
  4. Burning Up by Caroline B. Cooney.  Again, another book that appears pretty worn sitting on my shelf, because I’ve read it multiple times.  I think I got this one at one of my school book fairs, but I’m not entirely sure.  What I originally liked so much about it was that I could really relate to it.  I understood the teenage relationships and drama, because that’s what my life was like at the time, which helped me to better understand the larger themes of racism and segregation.  I grew up in a decently large town that still to this day has a “small-town” mentality, and this book challenged that thought process.
  5. The Life of Pi by Yann Martel.  This was required summer reading for my 12th grade honors English class.  When I first started reading it, I HATED it, and couldn’t wait for it to be over.  But then I got to the exciting stranded-on-a-boat-with-a-tiger part, and sped through the rest of the book.  The best part for me was the twist at the end, when you really question what actually happened.  I watched the movie adaptation several months back, and I have to say it is one of the few that I thought was really done well.
  6. The Black Jewels Trilogy by Anne Bishop.  This series was originally a trilogy that was later expanded upon, but I think the first three books really were the best.  I found these when I was in high school; I was a total fantasy nerd at that time, and the erotic themes made me feel all “adult-like at the time.
  7. The Giver by Lois Lowry.  I remember reading this book for my required 9th grade summer reading, and thinking “Whoa”.  It was probably one of the first dystopian books I ever picked up, and the underlying themes hit me hard.
  8. 1984 by George Orwell.  Yet another required summer reading book, this one for 10th grade.  I find myself wanting to go back and read it again, because I feel like there was a lot to the book that I didn’t necessarily comprehend at the time.  It may have been more appropriate to read as a senior.  However, the combination of The Giver, Fahrenheit 451, Do Androids Dream of Electric Sleep?, this book, and many others with the dystopian theme read during high school all really made me start to question my surroundings and the real world.  I think many things could be learned from the fact that so many popular (The Hunger Games, anyone?) and/or classic books warn against a dystopic future.
  9. The Inheritance Cycle by Christopher Paolini.  Really, who doesn’t love an easy read with dragons and magic???  YES!
  10. The Shining by Stephen King.  Because Stephen King.

What are some of your favorite books from 5th-12th grade?  Do any of mine make your list?

14 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday {2}: Favorite Books (age 10-18)

  1. bookjunkiekrystal March 4, 2014 at 2:03 pm

    When you’re left with so many options for the TTT, it can be hard to pick!

    Like

  2. Reviews from a Bookworm February 26, 2014 at 9:44 am

    Great pick! Harry Potter would most definitely be at the top of my list of childhood favourites too! Such an amazing series.Nice list 🙂 My TTT.

    Like

  3. Elena February 26, 2014 at 8:02 am

    Great list!You chose a really interesting and hard-in my opinion-topic.Because I always change my mind about my all time favorite books.But I’ll have to agree with Harry Potter!Thanks for stopping by my blog.Happy Reading!

    Elena @ Book Lady’s Reviews

    Like

  4. Lisa February 25, 2014 at 8:18 pm

    Fantastic list! Hurray for Island of the Blue Dolphins! That’s one of those childhood books that I’ll never forget… and should probably read again sometime soon. And The Shining… amazing.

    Like

  5. Pamela D February 25, 2014 at 5:34 pm

    I LOVED Scot O’Dell when I was a kid. I read every single one of his books that I could get my hands on!

    Like

  6. Dana (Little Lovely Books) February 25, 2014 at 12:48 pm

    Oh Harry Potter! I just reread the first one and still loved it as much as the first time I read it. 1984 is the only other one on your list that I’ve read. I think that I enjoyed it but can’t really remember…too many books! 🙂 Fun list!

    Like

  7. Elisa @ Leopards and Dragons February 25, 2014 at 10:37 am

    Excellent list. As a teen, I finished reading The Shining when I was all alone in the house. NOT a good idea. I had to turn on every light in the house just to make it to the bathroom and then I had to shove the shower curtain open. I was weird about closed shower curtains for years because of that book. I will defiantly have to track down that Andre Norton book. Thanks for the suggestion.

    Like

  8. Jan February 25, 2014 at 10:11 am

    I considered doing favorite books from some part of childhood for my TTT this week.

    Great list! So many on your list are favorites of mine, too. The Island of the Blue Dolphins was one of my very favorites. You’re right it’s a great book for a young girl.

    Like

I'd love to know what you think!

Books Are My Thing

Some women collect shoes, others collect purses. I collect books.

Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need Spoiler-Free Reviews In A Pinch

Eat well, Live well

“Let food be your medicine and your medicine be your food” – Hippocrates

teach from the heart

musings of a teacher, parent, and life-long learner

Mile High Reading

“Books to the ceiling, Books to the sky, My pile of books is a mile high. How I love them! How I need them! I'll have a long beard by the time I read them.” - Arnold Lobel

Reading with Analysis

Reading without reflecting is like eating without digesting - Edmund Burke

GreenFloss

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Soils Matter, Get the Scoop!

What's the dirt on soil? Find out here.

