Books Are My Thing – HAS MOVED!

Please visit www.booksaremything.com to continue following my blog!

Top Ten Tuesday: Book Blogging

First and foremost, props go out to The Librarian for introducing me to The Broke and the Bookish‘s weekly Top Ten Tuesday lists.  I think they’re a lot of fun, and totally intend to start participating in them from time to time.  So without further adieu, my first Top Ten!

Top Ten Reasons I Love Being a Book Blogger

  1. It gives me an excuse to read.  Sometimes I feel a little guilty for spending an entire afternoon reading instead of being productive around the apartment.  Granted, reading is a heck of a lot more productive than say, watching junk TV, but I often feel like I should be actively doing something, even though I just want to read.
  2. Since starting my blog, I’ve been introduced to new book websites.  Before this, I knew nothing about Goodreads, and yesterday I checked out NetGalley for the first time.  I love learning new things!
  3. I’ve been exposed to so many new books!  While some of the bloggers I currently follow do focus on sci-fi/fantasy, which has always been my favorite genre, there have been so many other books introduced to me since I started this blog.  Some of the ones I’ve added to my Wish List thanks to fellow bloggers include The Fault in Our Stars, The Goldfinch, Green is the New Red, and Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking.
  4. My blog gives me a place to reflect on what I’ve read.  As much as I hated spending weeks and weeks studying a book in high school English classes (Let’s be serious, I finished reading that book the first week it was handed to me), it always gave me time to reflect and infer more into the meaning of the book than I normally would.
  5. Blogging is an outlet for the creative energy I struggle to express elsewhere.  I do enjoy being creative, but I’m a scientist through and through, and often think in a very logical, reasonable, structured manner.  Which means it’s hard for me to express my creativity.  I love coming here and playing around with things, deciding how I want to write a new post, or coming up with new post ideas to try.
  6. It gives me a chance to discuss books with other people.  Sure, once in a while I might get into a conversation with a coworker, friend, family member, etc about a book I or they are reading.  But that doesn’t happen every day.  Here I can interact with fellow book/reading lovers on a regular basis.
  7. I enjoy hearing what other people think of books that I’ve read.  Again, I sometimes have In-Real-Life conversations about books (My coworker started the Doctor Sleep audiobook this weekend… apparently I need to finish re-reading The Shining and get on it!), but my blog lets me hear what complete strangers think too.
  8. Blogging gives my life some structure.  I have this expectation of myself for the minimum amount of time I want to spend on this blog each week, which means I actually have to make time.  It’s kind of like adult homework – sometimes I procrastinate about it, because I’m feeling lazy, but that requirement of myself always gives me a small amount of accomplishment and success each week, which I enjoy.
  9. My blog is a way of sharing my love of reading with the world.  That’s really been the sole purpose of starting this blog.  In my short lifetime I’ve gotten several people who swore they hated reading now reading books on a regular basis.  Here, I have the opportunity to reach people outside of my familiar circle, which is amazing.  Everyone should be given the chance to fall in love with reading!
  10. I get to talk about books whenever I want.  Yeah, that’s pretty darn sweet.

Well, there’s my Top Ten for today!  Why do you enjoy reading and/or book blogging?

4 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Book Blogging

  1. lissiet February 19, 2014 at 8:00 am

    I sometimes miss homework – so I totally agree that blogging is kinda like homework! Great list!
    Missie @ A Flurry of Ponderings

    Like

  2. Pamela D February 18, 2014 at 8:52 pm

    Netgalley is awesome. Enjoy!

    Like

  3. lissiet February 18, 2014 at 8:14 pm

    Great list, I do love that blogging gives me an excuse to read!
    ­ MY TTT
    Missie @ A Flurry of Ponderings

    Like

  4. Doris Elysia February 18, 2014 at 7:34 pm

    I love this topic and seeing everyone’s reasons for being a reader and blogger.
    Awesome list ❤
    Here's our TTT
    Doris @ OABR

    Like

I'd love to know what you think!

Books Are My Thing

Some women collect shoes, others collect purses. I collect books.

Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need Spoiler-Free Reviews In A Pinch

Eat well, Live well

“Let food be your medicine and your medicine be your food” – Hippocrates

teach from the heart

musings of a teacher, parent, and life-long learner

Mile High Reading

“Books to the ceiling, Books to the sky, My pile of books is a mile high. How I love them! How I need them! I'll have a long beard by the time I read them.” - Arnold Lobel

Reading with Analysis

Reading without reflecting is like eating without digesting - Edmund Burke

GreenFloss

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Soils Matter, Get the Scoop!

What's the dirt on soil? Find out here.

