Books Are My Thing – HAS MOVED!

Please visit www.booksaremything.com to continue following my blog!

Book Review: The Great Gatsby

IMG_20140205_163933

The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald is one of those American classics that, in my opinion, everyone should read at some point in their life.  At my high school, most of the kids end up reading this book (10th grade maybe?  It’s hard to remember).  Unfortunately, I was in the honors English classes, which meant I never got the opportunity to.  Truth be told, sometimes I envied the other English classes for getting to read cooler books!!  This one has always been on my list, but the recent remake of the film brought it to the forefront.

I’m one of those people that HATES seeing a movie before reading a book.  When I read the book first, I know the movie won’t be the same.  But the few times I have seen a movie first (My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult comes to mind), it really ruined the book for me because I already knew what was going to happen next.  Thus, I resolved I wasn’t going to watch the movie everyone was raving about until I had read the book.

From the back of the book:

The Great Gatsby, F. Scott Fitzgerald’s third book, stands as the supreme achievement of his career.  This exemplary novel of the Jazz Age has been aclaimed by generations of readers.  The story of the fabulously wealthy Jay Gatsby and his love for the beautiful Daisy Buchanan, of lavish parties on Long Island at a a time when The New York Times noted ‘gin was the national drink and sex the national obesession,’ it is an exquisitely crafted tale of America in the 1920’s.

The Great Gatsby is a true classic of twentieth-century literature.”

This book swept me off my feet right from the beginning.  I just loved Fitzgerald’s prose, and I’m actually inclined to read more of his books in the future.  I really felt like there was a 1920’s gentlemen standing there telling me his story as I read.  I rarely get that kind of feeling from a book.  Ironically, I had apparently already been swayed by movie trailers, as I kept imagining Leonardo DiCaprio as this “1920’s gentlemen,” otherwise known as Nick Carraway.  This frustrated me; the same thing happened when I read the Twilight series (the first movie hadn’t even come out yet, but I already knew who the actors were).  BUT, if you have seen the movie, then you of course understand the irony to all of this.  Leo isn’t Nick Carraway at all, but Gatsby himself!  Perhaps I also had a little bit of Titanic stuck in my head, who knows.

Anyway, I really enjoyed this book.  I’ve always had a minor fascination with the extravagance of the 1920’s, and Gatsby’s parties show just that.  Not to mention that the themes running through the book – jealousy, envy, lost love, the American dream, affairs, smoking/alcohol, etc etc etc – are still just as relevant to today’s world.

I’ll warn you, it doesn’t have the happy ending many people expect from books.  But really, how many classics actually do?!  As much as we all claim to love happy endings, it seems to me that we love real, “lifelike” story endings even more.  Or maybe that’s just me?

In any case, I high recommend adding The Great Gatsby to your Read-Before-I-Die list.  And, if you’re like me and have managed to NOT see the movie yet, I definitely recommend reading it before you do.

To those that have seen the newest movie adaptation, what did you think?  How did it compare to the book?

4 responses to “Book Review: The Great Gatsby

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday {13}: Best Books I've Read So Far This Year - Books Are My Thing

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday {13}: Best Books I’ve Read So Far This Year | Books Are My Thing

  3. Pamela D February 13, 2014 at 3:38 pm

    I read The Great Gatsby in high school, and I thought it was okay. I read it again around the time that the movie came out, and I fell in love with it. I feel that I was at a better place in my life to appreciate what was going on with the characters.

    Also, from what I understand My Sister’s Keeper has two very different endings in the book and movie! 🙂

    Like

  4. myria101 February 13, 2014 at 11:52 am

    I remember reading this in High School, but I also remember that I was completely lost when I read it because I wasn’t paying attention or absorbing it. I may have to read it again. I have yet to see the newest adaptation, but we did watch the Robert Redford version in school I think.

    Like

I'd love to know what you think!

Books Are My Thing

Some women collect shoes, others collect purses. I collect books.

Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need Spoiler-Free Reviews In A Pinch

Eat well, Live well

“Let food be your medicine and your medicine be your food” – Hippocrates

teach from the heart

musings of a teacher, parent, and life-long learner

Mile High Reading

“Books to the ceiling, Books to the sky, My pile of books is a mile high. How I love them! How I need them! I'll have a long beard by the time I read them.” - Arnold Lobel

Reading with Analysis

Reading without reflecting is like eating without digesting - Edmund Burke

GreenFloss

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Soils Matter, Get the Scoop!

What's the dirt on soil? Find out here.

