Books Are My Thing – HAS MOVED!

Please visit www.booksaremything.com to continue following my blog!

“Books That Will Change Your Life”

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, probably several times, I really love book lists.  I’ve gotten some great recommendations from book reviews on various blogs I follow, but there’s nothing like a good book list to really grow my wish list.  Which, last time I counted, is now up to 170 or so books – this doesn’t include the unread books already on my bookshelf, by the way.  Yeah, I have a problem.

Anyway, the boyfriend recently posted to my facebook a buzzfeed article titled “32 Books That Will Actually Change Your Life.”  With a title like that, I HAD to check it out.

I greatly suggest following through the link to look at the covers and read the descriptions of each one.  But here’s the list anyway:

  1. The Diving Bell and the Butterfly
  2. Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance
  3. Cat’s Cradle
  4. The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time**
  5. One Hundred Years of Solitude
  6. Invisible Monsters
  7. White Oleander
  8. In Cold Blood
  9. Middlesex**
  10. Play It As It Lays
  11. Ada, or Ardor
  12. Beloved**
  13. The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian**
  14. Push
  15. It
  16. Under The Banner of Heaven
  17. Me Talk Pretty One Day**
  18. World War Z*
  19. The Giver*
  20. The Fault in Our Stars**
  21. A Brief History of Time
  22. Sophie’s World
  23. Crime and Punishment**
  24. Life of Pi*
  25. Invisible Man
  26. Joy of Cooking
  27. Catch 22*
  28. The Train
  29. The Artist’s Way
  30. The Beautiful & Damned
  31. Prodigal Summer
  32. Never Let Me Go

*Are books that I have read.
** Are books that are on my to-read or wish list.

What do you guys think of this book list?  I’ve truthfully never heard of several of them before.  Joy of Cooking really seemed like an oddball, and I even own multiple cookbooks myself.  I do have to say that of the one’s I’ve read, I recommend them all – except Catch 22.  Gosh that book was dreadful.  I tried for a very long time, I think I was reading it for months, until about halfway through I finally gave it up.  It just was NOT for me.  But the rest are great; The Giver and Life of Pi are some of my all-time favorite books.

Do you suggest I add any of these books to my wish list??

One response to ““Books That Will Change Your Life”

  1. Pingback: My Book Lists | Books Are My Thing

I'd love to know what you think!

Books Are My Thing

Some women collect shoes, others collect purses. I collect books.

Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need Spoiler-Free Reviews In A Pinch

Eat well, Live well

“Let food be your medicine and your medicine be your food” – Hippocrates

teach from the heart

musings of a teacher, parent, and life-long learner

Mile High Reading

“Books to the ceiling, Books to the sky, My pile of books is a mile high. How I love them! How I need them! I'll have a long beard by the time I read them.” - Arnold Lobel

Reading with Analysis

Reading without reflecting is like eating without digesting - Edmund Burke

GreenFloss

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Soils Matter, Get the Scoop!

What's the dirt on soil? Find out here.

