Books Are My Thing – HAS MOVED!

Please visit www.booksaremything.com to continue following my blog!

Sunshine Award!

sunshine-award-2

So yesterday I was nominated for the Sunshine Award by Kate, The Lost Wanderer (Thanks for the double shoutout yesterday!!).  Basically, it just means that someone thinks your little piece of the blogosphere is kinda cool.  I don’t usually do this “chain email” kind of stuff, but I think it’s a great way to introduce people to new blogs, so here goes!

The rules:

  • Thank the person that nominated you and link to their blog.
  • List 11 facts about yourself.
  • Nominate 10 other blogs.

11 facts about myself…

  1. I became a distance runner in 2011.  It started with a 1/4 mile that left me huffing and puffing, and now I thoroughly enjoy half marathons.  I haven’t done a full yet, but I’ll get there.
  2. I also have a secret goal to do half marathons in as many states as possible in my lifetime.  So far I’ve got PA and NJ marked off, with VA, DC and MD coming up this year.
  3. I’ve got two cats that are my world.  One is about 2.5 years old, she’s a typical calico and with the stereotypical cat personality.  The other is roughly 7 months old, still very much a kitten and always getting into trouble.  He’s a lot more friendly though.
  4. I love to bake, but don’t do it very often because I’ve also got a serious sweet tooth and end up eating all of the things in a day or two if it’s sitting around.
  5. My favorite colors are blue and green.  Pretty much any shade or combination.  I am a Pisces after all…
  6. The only way I get things done are if I write down lists that I can then cross off.
  7. I LOVE color coding things.
  8. I can’t eat Lucky Charms, because when I do, I STILL have to eat all the cereal bits first, and then the marshmallows… in order of the song.  “Hearts, stars and horseshoes, clovers and blue moons.  Pots of gold and rainbows, and me red balloons!”  It always throws me off when they throw new ones in there like the leprechaun hat.
  9. I would love to learn how to crochet/sew/knit, but my lack of patience and my left-handedness make it very hard.
  10. I love love love candles.  Any of the apple/cider/cinnamon variety.  Especially Yankee Candle’s Farmer’s Harvest.  Mmm mmm mmm.
  11. I do environmental work for a living, which means I basically get paid to go hiking through the mountains.  Except that I have to do it rain or shine, hot or cold, even in snow and wind.  Yeah, those crappy days aren’t much fun.

And now for my nominees!

  1. Damn girl, that’s a lot of fattitude
  2. Job Talk with Anita Clew
  3. Books, j’adore
  4. Reflections of a Book Addict
  5. The Librarian Who Doesn’t Say “Shhh”
  6. Jackson Carter Speaks
  7. The Thoughtful Spot
  8. Runs For Cookies
  9. Jeyna Grace
  10. Idiot Writing

Tomorrow I will be posting a review on Stephen King’s Full Dark, No Stars, so don’t miss it!!

I'd love to know what you think!

Books Are My Thing

Some women collect shoes, others collect purses. I collect books.

Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need Spoiler-Free Reviews In A Pinch

Eat well, Live well

“Let food be your medicine and your medicine be your food” – Hippocrates

teach from the heart

musings of a teacher, parent, and life-long learner

Mile High Reading

“Books to the ceiling, Books to the sky, My pile of books is a mile high. How I love them! How I need them! I'll have a long beard by the time I read them.” - Arnold Lobel

Reading with Analysis

Reading without reflecting is like eating without digesting - Edmund Burke

GreenFloss

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Soils Matter, Get the Scoop!

What's the dirt on soil? Find out here.

