Books Are My Thing – HAS MOVED!

Please visit www.booksaremything.com to continue following my blog!

It’s All About the Cover

Today I was messaging back and forth with a friend, who was talking about random articles he was reading.  I mentioned that I enjoy watching TED talks from time to time, and found out he had never heard of TED.  I was aghast, and instantly googled a few of my favorite talks that came to mind, so that I could share with him the wonderment that is TED.

That’s when I stumbled upon this talk.  I remember watching it on Netflix and really enjoying it, so when I found it again, I decided to re-watch it.  I loved it just as much today as I did the first time I saw it.

After all, when we are out and about in book stores, libraries, book sales, etc, more often than not it’s the COVER that draws us in first.  It’s the cover that makes us curious, makes us pick it up or pull it off the shelf, makes us flip the book over to read the narrative on the back.  I applaud Chip Kidd and his magnificent creativity in creating these wonderful works of art.

Was there ever a book you probably wouldn’t have read, but ended up loving, and only because the cover immediately drew you in?

9 responses to “It’s All About the Cover

  1. Pingback: A Million Little Pieces by James Frey - Books Are My Thing

  2. Pingback: Book Review: A Million Little Pieces - Books Are My Thing

  3. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday {10}: Books Covers I'd Frame as Art - Books Are My Thing

  4. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday {10}: Books Covers I’d Frame as Art | Books Are My Thing

  5. Pingback: A Million Little Pieces | Books Are My Thing

  6. Pingback: No Naked Books | winterbayne

  7. Pingback: The day I discovered “Mannerpunk” | Kate, The Lost Wanderer

  8. EsperLydia January 14, 2014 at 4:33 pm

    Yes, “The Privilege of the Sword” By Ellen Kushner. My friend had it; I looked at the cover, picked it up, and did not give it back until i had read it twice. Fortunately I am a fast reader, and she was not reading it yet (she had found it somewhere) so i did not lose a friend.

    Hey, Hope you don’t mind, but I’m doing the sunshine award thingie and I nominated you! If you want to play along, please go to my blog to see the rules (http://wp.me/p49wMr-7Q). If you don’t want to, that’s cool too; just keep being awesome.

    Like

  9. Whimsies&Words January 14, 2014 at 1:20 pm

    So true. No matter how consciously I try not to judge a book by its cover, there are soooo many great reads triage has to be done somehow… Juan Pablo Villalobos brilliant wee book Down the Rabbit Hole was first published with a pretty bland beige design, I must have looked right over it half a dozen times before the new cover came out in bright orange and it immediately drew my eye. As a bookseller it can be heartbreaking when a really really good book is forever getting passed over because the cover design is just awful!

    Like

I'd love to know what you think!

Books Are My Thing

Some women collect shoes, others collect purses. I collect books.

Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need Spoiler-Free Reviews In A Pinch

Eat well, Live well

“Let food be your medicine and your medicine be your food” – Hippocrates

teach from the heart

musings of a teacher, parent, and life-long learner

Mile High Reading

“Books to the ceiling, Books to the sky, My pile of books is a mile high. How I love them! How I need them! I'll have a long beard by the time I read them.” - Arnold Lobel

Reading with Analysis

Reading without reflecting is like eating without digesting - Edmund Burke

GreenFloss

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Soils Matter, Get the Scoop!

What's the dirt on soil? Find out here.

