Books Are My Thing – HAS MOVED!

Please visit www.booksaremything.com to continue following my blog!

Best Books of 2013

I love book lists. I always end up adding one or two or ten books to my wish list when I stumble upon a good one, like the Quarter Life Crisis Girl’s Reading List I found on Pinterest a while back, conveniently around the time I turned 25.
While I realize it’s 2014 and somewhat past the “Best _______ of 2013” time period, I still thought it was worth posting about.

But finding a good list can be hard. For instance, when I was doing my search, I only recognized one title on the NY Times Top 10 of 2013 list. You would think the NY Times would know what they’re talking about… maybe I’m behind on the times? But no, that’s not possible, I peruse the Bestsellers section of my local bookstores on a regular basis.

Alas, searching further brought me to this 2013 NPR Staff Picks page, containing a book or two on my shelf, a couple on my wish list, and a few more that have now been added to said wish list (it should be noted that this wish list contains roughly 150ish books… Yeah, I have a problem).

Amazon’s list is very much the same, and Looking at Barnes and Noble’s bestseller lists, there are also a lot of the same books, except these are divided between fiction, nonfiction, kids and teens, which is nice if you’re looking for a slightly more specific list.

[Am I missing something by not knowing about The Goldfinch?! Someone please tell me if I am!!]

My favorite list, however, is the Goodreads Choice Awards 2013. Part of the reason I love this list so much is that the winners weren’t chosen by “experts”, but by readers themselves! Not to mention that the main page contains all the winners in each genre, but if you click through you can also see all the nominees. Very cool.

I hope these lists are helpful, particularly if you find yourself looking for something new to read. I know as I wrote this, sitting next to the boyfriend, I announced on SEVERAL occasions “Oh man, that has to go on my list!”. He just looked at me and shook his head. Such is the life.

7 responses to “Best Books of 2013

  1. Pingback: The Girls' Guide to Hunting and Fishing by Melissa Bank - Books Are My Thing

  2. Pingback: Girls in White Dresses by Jennifer Close - Books Are My Thing

  3. Pingback: Book Review: Girls in White Dresses by Jennifer Close | Books Are My Thing

  4. Pingback: My Book Lists | Books Are My Thing

  5. Pingback: The Girls’ Guide to Hunting and Fishing | Books Are My Thing

  6. myria101 January 6, 2014 at 3:28 pm

    I think we both are missing something by not know about The Goldfinch. Apparently the art is very popular now too just because it was featured on the cover. I saw it on the news that the museum that the painting is displayed in has been flooded with visitors to view it just because it was on the cover. Craziness. Anyway, I’m on Goodreads too as myria101. Find me. 🙂

    Like

I'd love to know what you think!

Books Are My Thing

Some women collect shoes, others collect purses. I collect books.

Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need Spoiler-Free Reviews In A Pinch

Eat well, Live well

“Let food be your medicine and your medicine be your food” – Hippocrates

teach from the heart

musings of a teacher, parent, and life-long learner

Mile High Reading

“Books to the ceiling, Books to the sky, My pile of books is a mile high. How I love them! How I need them! I'll have a long beard by the time I read them.” - Arnold Lobel

Reading with Analysis

Reading without reflecting is like eating without digesting - Edmund Burke

GreenFloss

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Soils Matter, Get the Scoop!

What's the dirt on soil? Find out here.

